Adding bluetooth RD4?

This unit is the RD4 or RD45 system, made by Continental.
Usually standard equipment unless another system is specified as an option. There are Single & Dual Tuner versions. RD45 features over the RD4: The RD45 has USB connectivity & integrated Bluetooth module supporting Phone & Audio Streaming.

Moderator: GiveMeABreak

Harlequin
(Donor 2020)
Posts: 901
Joined: 11 Jan 2006, 22:11
x 21

Adding bluetooth RD4?

Post by Harlequin »

Greetings all!

So, how would i add, the official citroen bluetooth kit to a C4GP (2008) with RD4?
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 26624
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 3113

Re: Adding bluetooth RD4?

Post by GiveMeABreak »

It's a lot of hassle as you'd need the connecting box which is usually installed behind the dash (depending on version) , the microphone wiring to the hands free unit (that is an awkward job and not easy to locate the wiring terminations), reconfigure the BSI and hope it all works.

There were 2 versions of kits available and each with different options and one had the USB and Aux connections that required wiring in. The basic hands free kit is installed on the front driver's side (RHD) behind the lower dashboard trim. It needs the door aperture trim moving as well as the carpet to mount with the fixing kit - but I'm not even sure there will be any pre-wiring for it.
Harlequin
(Donor 2020)
Posts: 901
Joined: 11 Jan 2006, 22:11
x 21

Re: Adding bluetooth RD4?

Post by Harlequin »

Hmmm would the loom be ready for it? After wiring up the sat nav into a non nav C5 , ready for this challenge
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 26624
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 3113

Re: Adding bluetooth RD4?

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Pop your VIN up for the C4GP - I don't have this one Simon and I'll see what I can find.
Harlequin
(Donor 2020)
Posts: 901
Joined: 11 Jan 2006, 22:11
x 21

Re: Adding bluetooth RD4?

Post by Harlequin »

VF7**************[VIN obfuscated, can be read by forum staff]
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 26624
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 3113

Re: Adding bluetooth RD4?

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Ok, so I've just checked and your fitted fascia harness is for vehicles without Hands Free Kit and with single Air Conditioning and without USB and AUX sockets:

"- WITHOUT HANDS-FREE TELEPHONE KIT AND SINGLE AIR CONDITIONING AND WITHOUT AUDIO PACK AUXILIARY SOCKET SINCE RPO 11683 UNTIL RPO 11801"

There are a huge number of harnesses on these depending on fitted equipment and options, so it doesn't look like you will have the connections there.
User avatar
xantia_v6
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 7964
Joined: 09 Nov 2005, 23:03
x 520

Re: Adding bluetooth RD4?

Post by xantia_v6 »

You could also consider the path of replacing your RD4 with an RD45 which has built-in bluetooth. This upgrade is almost plug-n-play, except for adding a microphone cable. With your age of car, you would need to upgrade your multi-function screen to a later version to support the RD45 bluetooth option.
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 26624
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 3113

Re: Adding bluetooth RD4?

Post by GiveMeABreak »

On the C4 Picasso, they have a different integrated screen Mike, unlike the ones on the cars, and I note that RD45 was never an option on these too. It seems they only had RD4, RT3/RT4 and RNEG and all these had different harnesses from what I can see.
User avatar
xantia_v6
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 7964
Joined: 09 Nov 2005, 23:03
x 520

Re: Adding bluetooth RD4?

Post by xantia_v6 »

GiveMeABreak wrote:
25 Feb 2021, 09:50
On the C4 Picasso, they have a different integrated screen Mike, unlike the ones on the cars, and I note that RD45 was never an option on these too. It seems they only had RD4, RT3/RT4 and RNEG and all these had different harnesses from what I can see.
Worth knowing. It would be nice to know for definite if the original Picasso screen is compatible with the RD45 or not.
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 26624
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 3113

Re: Adding bluetooth RD4?

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Hard to say as the RD45 is not even listed as an option. There's the DEV HR Display integrated into the instrument panel for when the RT5 Hi Res units are fitted and several flavours of the other screens for the RT4, RNEG and non-telematic system (so RD4). Whether the later screen would provide the compatibility for RD45 operation I wouldn't know at this point.
Harlequin
(Donor 2020)
Posts: 901
Joined: 11 Jan 2006, 22:11
x 21

Re: Adding bluetooth RD4?

Post by Harlequin »

Bluetooth was an added option ( i have the november 2008 sales brochure) - you can have either sat nav or bluetooth head units (or neither) , but cant mix the nav with the bluetooth.
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 26624
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 3113

Re: Adding bluetooth RD4?

Post by GiveMeABreak »

That's not actually correct - later telematics units have bluetooth functionality built in (MyWay (RNEG), eMyWay (RT6). Non-telematic units had either a standard RD4 with a separate Hands Free Bluetooth Kit, or a later RD45 with integrated Bluetooth module. It depends on what vehicle and what year as to the systems available as these changed throughout production. I think I already mentioned there was no RD45 unit offered with this vehicle.

The earlier RT3 and RT4 had no bluetooth built in and both these were available on the early models - and no hands free kit was available when these systems were fitted - so you are correct there.
MyWay came in from about October 2008 that has bluetooth built in, so negated any need for a separate hands free kit.
The RT6 came in from 5th March 2012 builds onwards and as said that too had bluetooth.
Harlequin
(Donor 2020)
Posts: 901
Joined: 11 Jan 2006, 22:11
x 21

Re: Adding bluetooth RD4?

Post by Harlequin »

Im going by this

https://mega.nz/file/b5hgVDDK#aahS5HwoL ... hqtuHGLAQQ

the 2008 sales brochure. So, no RD45 was available and it was *only* RD4 with ior without bluetooth (via a module) with or without usb as well , or sat nav
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 26624
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 3113

Re: Adding bluetooth RD4?

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Yes, that's correct - the 'Navidrive Pack' refers to the specific systems I mentioned (RT3 / RT4 in this case for this year) and these early ones don't support Bluetooth. They don't refer to the later units as 'Navidrive' any longer (apart from the NG4) which was not offered on these).

That brochure went to 'print' in Nov. 2008, so was for earlier models build prior to October 2008. So you'll likely find the next brochure will have the MyWay system and no mention of the Navidrive Packs any longer.
Harlequin
(Donor 2020)
Posts: 901
Joined: 11 Jan 2006, 22:11
x 21

Re: Adding bluetooth RD4?

Post by Harlequin »