207 1.4 ecu/bsi change

This is the Forum for all your Peugeot Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

darus68
Posts: 5
Joined: 09 Feb 2021, 17:32

207 1.4 ecu/bsi change

Post by darus68 »

Advice please on changing the ECU and BSI modules on 1.4 petrol 207 2008.
Original ECU/BSI aren't communicating to fault code reader anymore.
Thinking of cutting my losses and changing ECU/BSI and key as a set.
Current ECU is a Valeo unit.
Question is....can I install a replacement Valeo second hand ECU, BSI and key (of a similar vintage) as set without any further issues?
Also, if the pin number isn't available from the BSI for programming issues, can this be obtained from a main dealer.
Any help gratefully received.

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 22607
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2341

Re: 207 1.4 ecu/bsi change

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Remember that a second hand BSI has a high probability of being configured for a different vehicle and / or with different options and equipment, so will likely need to be completely checked and configured correctly.

If you can advise of other checks you have made regarding the electrical system / fuses first it may help others chip in with suggestions before going down this road.

darus68
Posts: 5
Joined: 09 Feb 2021, 17:32

Re: 207 1.4 ecu/bsi change

Post by darus68 »

Hi Marc,
Thanks for the reply.
Well things have changed a hit since writing the post.
I've had 2 new keys made and programme and the now the car starts! It was immobilized because the key we had wasn't working.
I think there is a problem with the throttle body/TPS in the accelerator pedal as fuel starvation or air starvation seems to be cutting all power. It has had a new throttle body apparently but does this need setting up and if so whatbis the procedure?
I'll be doing some tests tomorrow on the voltages produced.

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 22607
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2341

Re: 207 1.4 ecu/bsi change

Post by GiveMeABreak »

It will help if you pop your VIN up, so I can see exactly which engine / injection system you have - as there are lots of variants.

darus68
Posts: 5
Joined: 09 Feb 2021, 17:32

Re: 207 1.4 ecu/bsi change

Post by darus68 »

VF3**************[VIN obfuscated, can be read by forum staff]
TU3A KFU

darus68
Posts: 5
Joined: 09 Feb 2021, 17:32

Re: 207 1.4 ecu/bsi change

Post by darus68 »

Car seems to keep going into economy mode.!?

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 22607
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2341

Re: 207 1.4 ecu/bsi change

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Ok, so no coding required if replacing the Accelerator TPS. As for Economy mode, this will occur if the battery is too weak. You'll only get half the time back spent driving before economy mode kicks in again. So if you drive for 15 minutes, you'll get 7 minutes back before economy mode kicks in, or 1 hour to get 30 minutes back - up to a maximum 30 minutes.

This assumes your battery is in good condition. If your battery is 5 years old or over, then it may be time to consider changing it - the capacity to hold a full charge diminishes with age, so it can drain far more quickly over the years as the capacity reduces.

ekjdm14
Donor 2020
Posts: 1878
Joined: 19 Jan 2015, 18:42
x 205

Re: 207 1.4 ecu/bsi change

Post by ekjdm14 »

If you've replaced/cleaned the fly-by-wire throttle under the bonnet, from experience it can require a re-learn on PP2000 if there's a big difference. Symptom we got was (after cleaning a disgustingly filthy one) car kept going straight into a default limp-home strategy with no control of the throttle butterfly & governing revs via timing/fuel cut. Just enough to barely limp the car along at a crawl. It was doing this occasionally prior to cleaning and I was convinced I'd ruined the throttle body & kicking myself but after the re-learn procedure it was fine.

darus68
Posts: 5
Joined: 09 Feb 2021, 17:32

Re: 207 1.4 ecu/bsi change

Post by darus68 »

Ok so the latest update is that the car is in economy mode and won't even start. It did sttart after programming 2 new keys but not now.
The engine wont even turn over so I'm guessing the BSI isn't powering up the ECU.
The BSI number is 9664055780 and the ecu number is sw9664127180. Does the BSI number refer to a particular body/trim type, like the number of doors and specification?

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 22607
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2341

Re: 207 1.4 ecu/bsi change

Post by GiveMeABreak »

The BSIs were available on some models in a low, medium or high variation - depending on equipment. Later on they tended to fit just the top end BSI. So it really depends on the correct BSI you have fitted. But more importantly, it is the software and the configuration that is important. BSIs have to be configured to match the correct engine, braking system, and numerous other options on your vehicle. That's in addition to the pairing with an engine ECU and the key Fob chip.

Have you done any electrical testing yet?

Make sure your battery is healthy - if it has lost a lot of capacity it won't hold a charge for very long, not as much of a charge as it could when new. Many of these issues are battery related.

When connecting and disconnecting the battery follow the guidance to make sure the ECUs are properly shut down and restored. Opening doors or not shutting them stops the networks from sleeping.

BSI Reset / Battery Disconnect / Reconnect Procedure