Lexia aux input radio issues

This section is where Audio / Telematics Posts will be placed temporarily

Moderator: RichardW

Gary1511
Posts: 9
Joined: 17 Dec 2020, 20:22

Lexia aux input radio issues

Post by Gary1511 »

Hi all,

I bought a Lexia device and software and have it all running nicely on an xp laptop. my Car is a 56 C8 and I bought the lexia to enable the aux input on the radio. when I run the global diagnostics test everything seems to report back ok, including the radio which reports "no" faults. Thing is when I then try to then go in to the manual configuration for the radio I get no communication and I cannot get in to the config screen. Does anyone have any ideas?

Online
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 22656
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2345

Re: Lexia aux input radio issues

Post by GiveMeABreak »

It depends on what Audio system you have in the vehicle. Not all have an AUX input. You may have to enable the CD Changer option from the BSI configuration - but I would urge extreme caution about changing settings there as it can render the vehicle inoperable.

Also, some settings are not always what the description implies - some settings have to be set with mandatory values when other equipment / options are fitted that handle similar tasks.

Gary1511
Posts: 9
Joined: 17 Dec 2020, 20:22

Re: Lexia aux input radio issues

Post by Gary1511 »

It does have on aux button on the radio

Online
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 22656
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2345

Re: Lexia aux input radio issues

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Yes, that will switch the source to AUX. On some vehicles there were AUX inputs inthe glovebox for Audio L/R in and video on some models depending if you have the full telematics unit like the RT3 / RT4 Navidrive.

What system have you got already? Post your VIN up (automatically masked) if you're not sure.

Gary1511
Posts: 9
Joined: 17 Dec 2020, 20:22

Re: Lexia aux input radio issues

Post by Gary1511 »

thanks for the help my vin is VF7**************[VIN obfuscated, can be read by forum staff]

Online
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 22656
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2345

Re: Lexia aux input radio issues

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Ok, so you have the basic RD4 system.

What version of Diagbox software are you using? If the ECU has been detected in the test then it is communicating with it, otherwise it wouldn't show up with the detected ECUs.

What are you trying to enable - the CD port for a piece of aftermarket equipment that requires it or the RCA Audio?

The RCA Auxilliary input No2 is the option you need for the RCA (Not No1)
and the CD changer or USB BOX option is the one if trying to enable CD / USB support.

Gary1511
Posts: 9
Joined: 17 Dec 2020, 20:22

Re: Lexia aux input radio issues

Post by Gary1511 »

I am trying to plug my dab adaptor in to it which doubles up as a handsfree car kit. I bought a lead from eBay that popped straight in to the back of the radio and has a lead with a 3.5mm headphone type plug on it. I went in to BSI and it is showing that a radio ECU is present. And it shows with no faults on the global diagnostics. But when I go to manually configure the radio to enable the aux port it says no communication. When I try to read the parameters, everytime I try it says communication interrupted?

Online
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 22656
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2345

Re: Lexia aux input radio issues

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Try again with the car running - it may be going into economy mode.

Gary1511
Posts: 9
Joined: 17 Dec 2020, 20:22

Re: Lexia aux input radio issues

Post by Gary1511 »

Will try it now

Gary1511
Posts: 9
Joined: 17 Dec 2020, 20:22

Re: Lexia aux input radio issues

Post by Gary1511 »

Just tried it again still the same with engine running
Attachments
IMG_20210117_173007649.jpg
IMG_20210117_173819611.jpg
IMG_20210117_174252945.jpg
IMG_20210117_174224624.jpg

wheeler
Posts: 4661
Joined: 21 Sep 2002, 19:07
x 215

Re: Lexia aux input radio issues

Post by wheeler »

Do you have a link to the device you have bought?

Gary1511
Posts: 9
Joined: 17 Dec 2020, 20:22

Re: Lexia aux input radio issues

Post by Gary1511 »

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/373406396473

The description says that most people buy this to enable the aux input
Attachments
Screenshot_20210117-184024.png

wheeler
Posts: 4661
Joined: 21 Sep 2002, 19:07
x 215

Re: Lexia aux input radio issues

Post by wheeler »

Sorry, I meant the aux device you bought.

Gary1511
Posts: 9
Joined: 17 Dec 2020, 20:22

Re: Lexia aux input radio issues

Post by Gary1511 »

https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B07MKVY155? ... b_ap_share

Not sure this is the problem though. I haven't plugged anything in to it yet. The problem is I cannot access the radio configuration page to change this setting from missing to classic. Apparently that's all I need to do. Then when I press the source button on the radio it will switch to aux
Attachments
Screenshot_20210117-194941.png

Gary1511
Posts: 9
Joined: 17 Dec 2020, 20:22

Re: Lexia aux input radio issues

Post by Gary1511 »

Sorry I should be clearer. I have connected the connector to the back of the radio but it is not plugged in to my dab adaptor yet. And the image on the previous post is a still from a YouTube video that shows the setting that I need to change in the radio manual configuration page. The problem is that when I click on manual configuration I get the no communication error