DS DS5 TPMS RESET

This is the Forum for all your DS Automobiles Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

Smartest_Smarty
Posts: 11
Joined: 26 Sep 2020, 10:44

DS DS5 TPMS RESET

Post by Smartest_Smarty »

Hi,

How do I reset the TPMS for my DS DS5?

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 22655
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2345

Re: DS DS5 TPMS RESET

Post by GiveMeABreak »

According to this year, you should have the direct TPMS system in which case there is no reset. Only indirect systems have a reset. If there is a tyre pressure fault then the tyre is probably underinflated. Use a different gauge or garage to check the pressures again.

Smartest_Smarty
Posts: 11
Joined: 26 Sep 2020, 10:44

Re: DS DS5 TPMS RESET

Post by Smartest_Smarty »

Thanks for your reply.

Essentially I swapped my DS5 alloys from my old DS5 to my new one, as the tyres were better quality.

After doing so, I got a dash board warning saying that the tyre pressures were not being monitored.

I thought perhaps as the sensors were from the old car my new car did not recognise them?

Not sure what happened, but the light has gone off and the tyre pressures are now being monitored correctly.

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 22655
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2345

Re: DS DS5 TPMS RESET

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Having the other half of the story helps...

Initially when first put on the car, new Tyre pressure sensors are first activated using Diagbox and an Exciter tool, and then secondly paired to the vehicles's TPMS receiver.

I'm surprised that they are working on the new DS5 with a straight swap, as each sensor has an identification number - unless the 2 cars are in close proximity, in which case the receiver may still be picking up the old sensors from the other car if it is close enough.

Try going for a drive and see if you don't get the warning back, because if this was the case, the system would be prone to failure as travelling in traffic, the receiver could potentially be picking up any other vehicle's sensors! That's why they are paired and have an individual identification number for each sensor.

Smartest_Smarty
Posts: 11
Joined: 26 Sep 2020, 10:44

Re: DS DS5 TPMS RESET

Post by Smartest_Smarty »

Hi, no they’re not in close proximity.

I’ve been driving and the warning hasn’t come back.

I understand what you’re saying though.

Smartest_Smarty
Posts: 11
Joined: 26 Sep 2020, 10:44

Re: DS DS5 TPMS RESET

Post by Smartest_Smarty »

Actually, what I’ve noticed is one of the cars picks up the tyre pressures and on the other car it says not being monitored. I’m not sure why. It’s strange to work on one car and not the other, after switching the alloys over.

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 22655
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2345

Re: DS DS5 TPMS RESET

Post by GiveMeABreak »

So that's as it should be normally - if one set has not been paired to the vehicle it won't be monitoring them.