So I Had My Alignment Checked... Does This Sound Right?

This is the Forum for all your Peugeot Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

BadIdea
My Cars: [2006] 407 SW 2.0 HDi (136) Auto(6)

So I Had My Alignment Checked... Does This Sound Right?

Post by BadIdea »

Just had a Hunter 4-wheel alignment check after some brand new tyres and here are the results:

I'm no expert, but I believe them when they say the front needs adjustment. They've quoted me £50 for that. The rear apparently also needs a minor adjustment, but they said that the bolt looks so frail that they won't risk it without replacing it with a new one first. I left them to find the part and they came back with a surprising £100 per side fitted (with the option of just changing one, or both), as apparently the bolt only comes as a whole unit. I told them I'd leave it for now and get the alignment checked in a few months to see if it's drifted further.

So, my questions are:
  • Is £50 reasonable for the front adjustment?
  • Is the rear worth bothering with?
  • Does the bolt/rod/whatever really only come as a whole unit? And if so, how does the price sound?
Thanks
EDC5
(Donor 2020)
My Cars: Citroen C5 RHR AM6

Re: So I Had My Alignment Checked... Does This Sound Right?

Post by EDC5 »

Hmm, I was told that the rear on the 407/C5 can't be changed! I still got charged £40 for the front but I don't know if they actually did anything.
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
My Cars: C3 Aircross SUV HDi Flair Peperoncino Red (The Chili Hornet)
C5 X7 2.0 HDi Exclusive Mativoire Beige (The Golden Hornet)
C3 1.6 HDi Exclusive Aluminium Grey (The Silver Hornet)
C5 MK II 2.0 HDi Exclusive Obsidian Black
C5 MK I 2.0 HDi SX Wicked Red
Xantia S2 2.0 HDi SX Hermes Red
C15 Romahome White
XM 2.0 Turbo Prestige Emerald Green Pearlescent
XM 2.0 Turbo Prestige Polar White
XM 2.0 SX Polar White
CX 20 Polar White
GS 1220 Geranium Red
CX 2.4 Prestige C-Matic Nevada Beige
GS 1000 Cedreat Yellow