RD4 Radio – Confused about the number of presets across FM1, FM2, FMast wavebands.

This unit is the RD4 or RD45 system, made by Continental.
Usually standard equipment unless another system is specified as an option. There are Single & Dual Tuner versions. RD45 features over the RD4: The RD45 has USB connectivity & integrated Bluetooth module supporting Phone & Audio Streaming.

Moderator: RichardW

User avatar
AlanC
Posts: 5
Joined: 11 Jun 2020, 14:19
x 2

RD4 Radio – Confused about the number of presets across FM1, FM2, FMast wavebands.

Unread post by AlanC »

Peugeot 207 SW. 58 plate. 1.6Hdi.

It’s my thinking that you should be able to save 6 presets for each of the 4 wavebands.
E.g. FM1 could be for 6 radio stations, FM2 six different stations & so on for the other two wavebands giving 6 x 4 = 24 presets.

However, this doesn't seem to be the case. When I save 6 presents on FM1 they are also saved on FM2 & Fmast.
If I change any of the presets when on any of the FM wavebands it is changed on the other two FM wavebands.
Consequently I can only save a max of 6 FM presets. AM have 6 different presets.

• Is my thinking wrong?
• Should I be able to save 24 presets across the 4 wavebands?

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 20067
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 1968

Re: RD4 Radio – Confused about the number of presets across FM1, FM2, FMast wavebands.

Unread post by GiveMeABreak »

Some radios have multiple tuners - one for FM1, one for FM2 and even a third tuner providing a 'Diversity' function that constantly scans the FM band to keep the list of stations updated. These are generally on the higher end of the Telematics units.

I always used my previous presets so you could have 6 stations preset on FM1 in one area, but then say you travel regularly and end up in some other part of the country with different station availability (local stations), that you could programme 6 more under FM2. That would save re-tuning all the time if you do a lot of travelling.

So I would expect that you should be able to store 6 on the FM1 and 6 on the FM2 - but will depend on the capability of your RD4 as these were available in 3 levels. Some only have a single tuner, which may be why you are stuck on 6.

User avatar
xantia_v6
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 7314
Joined: 09 Nov 2005, 23:03
x 394

Re: RD4 Radio – Confused about the number of presets across FM1, FM2, FMast wavebands.

Unread post by xantia_v6 »

What happens if you try to save a different station in one of the FM2 slots?
What happens to the FMast slots if you perform a scaan by pressing the Band buttin until is says "wait"?

User avatar
AlanC
Posts: 5
Joined: 11 Jun 2020, 14:19
x 2

Re: RD4 Radio – Confused about the number of presets across FM1, FM2, FMast wavebands.

Unread post by AlanC »

Hi, Xantai v6 & Marc,

Thanks for your prompt replies – appreciated.
Your comments encouraged me to have another play / think about this. It’s my user error.

I was pressing the ‘Band’ button & expecting it to automatically display & retune to the station on the preset I was on. E.g. listening to FM1, preset 1 (BBC radio 2) then press ‘Band’ button moving to FM2 and expecting it to display & retune to the station stored on preset 1 (BBC Radio Wales) automatically. It doesn’t. It stays tuned to the same freq. until I press the preset button after pressing the band button. Hurrah! I now have 18 FM presets. Everyday is a school day. Thanks again.