Xantia 2.0l Hdi 110bhp Bitron relay

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

stevestix8
Posts: 111
Joined: 06 Jul 2010, 20:34
x 3

Xantia 2.0l Hdi 110bhp Bitron relay

Post by stevestix8 »

Hi all,

Have an interesting problem, thought I would ask if anyone else has had the same prob.

For a while the immobilser relay (Bitron 240109) see pic, has been causing an occasional prob on start up, I would hear a clicking and identified the relay as the prob, I would open the box under bonnet and disconnect and reconnect cables and it would start fine again. This would be fine on startup for months after that.
20200511_173745.jpg
Today tapping it and reconnected cables made no difference, it keeps making a clicking noise with a flashing key symbol on the dashboard, I assume the part is original which is 22 yrs this year, so am assuming the relay has failed beyond repair.

Have looked and can still get them new at around £15.00, which may be best option.

Is there any other possible cause for this? Any other possible fixes?

Thanks,

Steve

thorter
Posts: 116
Joined: 22 Feb 2005, 03:07
x 2

Re: Xantia 2.0l Hdi 110bhp Bitron relay

Post by thorter »

Check positive battery leads bundle. The feed wire to the ECU may be down to one or two strands.
F

User avatar
xantia_v6
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 7388
Joined: 09 Nov 2005, 23:03
x 408

Re: Xantia 2.0l Hdi 110bhp Bitron relay

Post by xantia_v6 »

The (RHD) Xantia can also suffer from corroded wires in the harness (10AV) that runs under the radiator, which can cause strange symptoms before total failure.

User avatar
CitroenCrazy
Donor 2020
Posts: 94
Joined: 20 Mar 2005, 19:17
x 12

Re: Xantia 2.0l Hdi 110bhp Bitron relay

Post by CitroenCrazy »

FWIW, when I had my XM, I had very similar symptoms, which were completely resolved with a new bitron relay.

User avatar
ksanturion10
Posts: 113
Joined: 14 Oct 2018, 21:59
x 12

Re: Xantia 2.0l Hdi 110bhp Bitron relay

Post by ksanturion10 »

Probably it already reached its operating limit -> buy new - preferably original ;)