Lexia assistance needed

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

User avatar
mickthemaverick
Donor 2019
Posts: 4038
Joined: 11 May 2019, 17:56
x 1187

Lexia assistance needed

Post by mickthemaverick »

I am trying to access the BSI on my C5 to tell the system I have topped up the additive. The lexia is asking for the personal code from my customer card, which I have never had. Is there a way round this? :)

User avatar
Romzi
Posts: 45
Joined: 10 Dec 2012, 15:40
x 3

Re: Lexia assistance needed

Post by Romzi »

You should ask the seller of Lexia how to do what I am not allowed to say or tell you in the public forum. :lol:

User avatar
mickthemaverick
Donor 2019
Posts: 4038
Joined: 11 May 2019, 17:56
x 1187

Re: Lexia assistance needed

Post by mickthemaverick »

Cheers Romzi, That will be Easy Diagnostics then, unless of course a pm might solve the secrecy issue?

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 21217
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2115

Re: Lexia assistance needed

Post by GiveMeABreak »

mickthemaverick wrote:
18 Mar 2020, 13:06
I am trying to access the BSI on my C5 to tell the system I have topped up the additive. The lexia is asking for the personal code from my customer card, which I have never had. Is there a way round this? :)
You are in the wrong place Mick - nothing secret about it.

If this is your MK I C5 there is a separate additive ECU called EAS100 or EAS200 after you run the global test. You need to go into this ECU to do the reset.

The reason you are being asked for a code as there are some areas in the BSI that are secured and need a PIN - but you shouldn't need to go in there.

User avatar
mickthemaverick
Donor 2019
Posts: 4038
Joined: 11 May 2019, 17:56
x 1187

Re: Lexia assistance needed

Post by mickthemaverick »

After the global test I get Diesel additive function listed, when I go into that it shows the ecu as 'Ecu ADDITIF_FAP' no sign 9f eas 100 or 200. Is that still wrong? It also says no comms with injection ecu

User avatar
Romzi
Posts: 45
Joined: 10 Dec 2012, 15:40
x 3

Re: Lexia assistance needed

Post by Romzi »

Sorry, OI thought it' s licence issue. #-o

User avatar
mickthemaverick
Donor 2019
Posts: 4038
Joined: 11 May 2019, 17:56
x 1187

Re: Lexia assistance needed

Post by mickthemaverick »

Patience has expired with the lexia!! I have tried each and every way to get at the refill parameter with no luck at all and once I get frustrated with something like that I find it best to stop and try again another day. So if in the meantime anyone could point me to a step by step guide to resetting the counter I would be grateful!! :( :( :( :)

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 21217
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2115

Re: Lexia assistance needed

Post by GiveMeABreak »

That’s the one then Mick, they are all different. Are you saying there is no comms with the additive ECU or the Engine ECU, or no comms with the engine ECU after you have gone into the adduce ECU?

Sorry, but there is no such thing as a step by step guide! Each vehicle is different, may have a different engine ECU, with or without a separate additive ECU, each member will have Lexia or Diagbox depending on age of vehicle and just to make it more complicated, the version of the software will mean it can be in different menus / areas!

You'll have to try again when you have the time to go through it but I would add the following cautions:

If you have an older VCI interface you may well have comms issues especially with the C5 on some functions / ECUs.
As I have covered amply elsewhere in various threads, these older systems with separate additive ECUs can be troublesome and it is quite common for them to have to be replaced at the filling operation as they may not reset or cannot be communicated with (hence my questions earlier).

The later systems on the MK III have the additive operation incorporated into the engine ECU and are less hassle to do.

I hope this explains why it is not a simple operation in all cases - each will be different.

User avatar
mickthemaverick
Donor 2019
Posts: 4038
Joined: 11 May 2019, 17:56
x 1187

Re: Lexia assistance needed

Post by mickthemaverick »

OK thanks as ever Marc, as for the Ecus I did not get an engine ecu in the post global test list, just the additive one and an injection one which my Lexia, circa 2010 V5 I think, could not communicate with. I could communicate with the additive ecu but it only offered the options to change the dpf or change the ecu, No option to set the additive level in the tank. I'll have another go at it when I get the enthusiasm back. At least I tested the additive pump and the injector and they both sounded to be working correctly and I now have 2 litres of additive in the tank so the car should be ok for a bit despite what the ecu thinks!!

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 21217
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2115

Re: Lexia assistance needed

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Ok, when I use the term 'Engine ECU', that is a general term , as again these are referred to explicitly depending on the one you have in your vehicle - e.g. my engine ECU is a Delphi 3.2, so that comes up as my engine ECU - for others it may be an EDC152 or something similar which is a Bosch. But in either case it is usually identified in Diagbox by the spark plug Icon or in Lexia will say Injection / Ignition for example.

It's important that the additive ECU is reset, as the additive quantity is not physically measured. It is estimated from the known initial amount, less mileage and fuel added and the amounts of additive metered out, So at some point if the warning has not yet come on about low additive, it will, despite you having topped it up, as it has no way of knowing you have done this until you tell it.

Then, as some point, when your 'grace period' is over, the engine ECU will permanently go into backup mode (reduced power, no cruise etc, etc.) until it is done. Just thought you should be aware of this possibility.

User avatar
mickthemaverick
Donor 2019
Posts: 4038
Joined: 11 May 2019, 17:56
x 1187

Re: Lexia assistance needed

Post by mickthemaverick »

Yes I am aware of that thanks Marc, from your previuos postings elsewhere. It would seem that my main problem then is that my lexia cannot communicate with the injection ecu so I will take it to my local specialist and enlist his help in sorting it out. Thanks for your time and effort on this.

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 21217
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2115

Re: Lexia assistance needed

Post by GiveMeABreak »

No problem - the issue I can see is whether you have an older VCI that isn't fully CAN compatible or indeed a faulty Engine ECU. Hopefully they will be able to determine which Mick.

RichardW
Forum Treasurer
Posts: 9262
Joined: 07 Aug 2002, 17:12
x 375

Re: Lexia assistance needed

Post by RichardW »

The early additive ECU on the 2.2 was always problematic, and often the only way to get it to accept that the tank was refilled was to replace the ECU....

User avatar
mickthemaverick
Donor 2019
Posts: 4038
Joined: 11 May 2019, 17:56
x 1187

Re: Lexia assistance needed

Post by mickthemaverick »

Thanks for that Richard! I had read that myself but I will still try and get it done because the rest of the car works perfectly so I am hoping I might have "a goodun" :)

User avatar
Bandit12
Donor 2020
Posts: 384
Joined: 23 Apr 2013, 11:35
x 9

Re: Lexia assistance needed

Post by Bandit12 »

I remember having exactly the same issues on my old 2.2 hdi. It appears that the ecu sometimes needs replacing as it is "fixed" and non re=programmable by the lexia. I found a "new" second hand one still in its box on ebay for about £40, but this was 5 years ago now. Once new ecu was plugged in I had no further issues or dashboard warnings. If i remember correctly it is a false economy to by a used second hand one as it will likely have the same issue. Its a very easy fix to replace the ecu, just an unforeseen part of the frustrating and annoying topping up process.

Gino