C4 Steering Wheel Controls

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

Steve Walsh
Donor 2020
Posts: 247
Joined: 25 Oct 2019, 07:20
x 134

C4 Steering Wheel Controls

Post by Steve Walsh »

Question for all you clever folk.

Wife's C4. 2005 16HDI. Vin number: VF7**************[VIN obfuscated, can be read by forum staff]

We have had a problem with the buttons around the steering wheel. Cruise control sometimes didn't set and came up with fault. ( brake micro switch had already been changed but didn't cure it)
The radio buttons on the wheel, work OK
The Menu, Mode, and brightness buttons don't work.
Also, when you turn off the ignition after using the car, then restart following day, The clock is showing the time that it was previously switched off.

I have just replaced the complete switch unit with a new Citroen one, It has cured the cruise problem, but the other problems still exist.

I have a new Lexia system from Easy Diagnostics and still finding my way round it, I have had it plugged in and cant find any fault, I also managed to check operation of switches and they show as working.

The duplicate controls on the dash/radio system work fine.

Sorry its a bit of a long winded story, I wanted to give you as much info as poss

Steve

Also tried BSI reset
Online
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 26052
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2988

Re: C4 Steering Wheel Controls

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Which module did you replace Steve?

(1) or (2)?
C4 Switch Unit.PNG
Steve Walsh
Donor 2020
Posts: 247
Joined: 25 Oct 2019, 07:20
x 134

Re: C4 Steering Wheel Controls

Post by Steve Walsh »

Replaced Number 1 a while ago to cure headlights not always clicking onto main beam, Yesterday replaced number 2
Online
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 26052
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2988

Re: C4 Steering Wheel Controls

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Ok, so the reason I asked, is that if you are replacing the 'Steering Wheel Control Unit' item (1). then you need to check the BSI software version using Lexia / Diagbox.

If the BSI software version is 07.3x, then the BSI must be updated to 09.x which is the latest version. This will be a dealer - only job as the download will come from PSA servers. This is usually to ensure that the BSI and the Comms Unit care compatible when replaced. This is noted as part of the procedure when replacing the comms unit (1) Steve.
Steve Walsh
Donor 2020
Posts: 247
Joined: 25 Oct 2019, 07:20
x 134

Re: C4 Steering Wheel Controls

Post by Steve Walsh »

Hi Marc

BSI Software version is :08.46

Item number 1 is working ok, Its item 2 not working completely,

Steve
Online
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 26052
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2988

Re: C4 Steering Wheel Controls

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Ok, so my next question is, what part number did you order for item 2? There are a load of these - if you get the wrong one it won't play nice.
Steve Walsh
Donor 2020
Posts: 247
Joined: 25 Oct 2019, 07:20
x 134

Re: C4 Steering Wheel Controls

Post by Steve Walsh »

Hi Marc

Part number 6239RC. It is the same as the original, Its a Valeo unit. The same buttons didn't work on the original, apart from Cruise which now works fine

Steve
Online
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 26052
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2988

Re: C4 Steering Wheel Controls

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Ol, there is a superseded part number (98003833ZD) now for these. But I suspect if the fault existed before and still does then the issue may lie elsewhere.

I shall have a look at the diagrams shortly

Can't see anything specific to the unit - all the associated functions (Audio, Horn etc.) have their own diagrams but very little on this unit. So could be a data wiring issue from the unit back to the BSI. Double check the connectors as these are notoriously sensitive.
Steve Walsh
Donor 2020
Posts: 247
Joined: 25 Oct 2019, 07:20
x 134

Re: C4 Steering Wheel Controls

Post by Steve Walsh »

Cheers Marc
I will check them all when I get chance, According to Lexia all the switches work.
It's not a major prob because all the controls are on the dash as well.

Best regards

Steve