Sat nav

This unit is the eMyWay system, also referred to as RT6, RNEG2, or WIPNAV+ for the Peugeot platform and made by Magneti Marelli.
Main Features: The eMyWay colour satellite navigation has high resolution mapping, Bluetooth Telephone & Audio Streaming supported profiles, USB support for Media files & CD

Moderator: RichardW

Steveo
Donor 2020
Posts: 132
Joined: 31 Dec 2019, 21:05
x 12

Sat nav

Post by Steveo »

Hi
Just tried to retro fit sat nav to my 2009 C5
All went well until the screen booted up and the last 1/3 rd of the screen is grey in colour and not black (on boot up)
Has anyone had this problem?
IMG_20200105_084434.jpg
Regards
Steve

Online
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 24373
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2665

Re: Sat nav

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Possible compatibility issue.

What head unit are you fitting and do you have a compatible screen for that Head Unit? There are low and high resolution screens which have to be compatible with the Head Unit. I'm assuming you are retro-fitting an RT6 (eMyWay) unit and not an RNEG (MyWay).

Xantippa
Posts: 457
Joined: 05 Feb 2012, 16:51
x 18

Re: Sat nav

Post by Xantippa »

Looks like MyWay to me - or then eMyWay graphics is just the same?

Online
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 24373
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2665

Re: Sat nav

Post by GiveMeABreak »

MyWay has an SD card slot on the front of the unit, eMyWay (RT6) does not. They each require different screens to work.

You can just see the difference on the Telematics images for each on the home page of this section:

viewforum.php?f=44

Steveo
Donor 2020
Posts: 132
Joined: 31 Dec 2019, 21:05
x 12

Re: Sat nav

Post by Steveo »

Hi
Thank you for the replies
The unit does have the SD card in the front
Could it be the data cable?
The unit and screen were removed from the same car
Regards
Steve

Online
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 24373
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2665

Re: Sat nav

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Ok, so if they were working as a pair they should be fine.

One thing that can brick the display is if you do not remove the quadlock connector first before the other cables and certainly before the LVDS cable that connects the screen. The Quadlock contains the power and if the multifunction screen cable is connected or removed whilst the quadlock is still connected, it can damage the display.

The Quadlock must always be removed first and connected last.

Steveo
Donor 2020
Posts: 132
Joined: 31 Dec 2019, 21:05
x 12

Re: Sat nav

Post by Steveo »

Update
Managed to get another screen although not as tidy as the other (screen bezel) at least it works
Now for the next bit
How much can I expect to pay to get the unit coded to my Vin number
Would a citroen dealer code it or would I have to purchase a lexia 3
The later seems to be a nightmare as so many of them don't appear to do the C5 for some reason
Regards
Steve

Online
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 24373
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2665

Re: Sat nav

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Only the cheap units that have cut down hardware don't work - pay anything near £100 should be a decent full-chip revision C unit that will work with the C5 and other full CAN vehicles.

See if there is a member near you with Diagbox that will do this for you:

viewtopic.php?t=56452

There is a link to a Google map at the bottom that will show you all the members and their locations graphically. Contract them via a PM or an email, but be aware that not all are active on the forum all the time!

Failing that, you can go to a dealer and they will charge you diagnostic time to do this - not only your VIN will need coding but any other options specific to your car - just ask them to code the VIN and then download the ECU parameters for your vehicle. A dealer will charge a minimum of 30 minutes - but shouldn't take more than that - but they may charge you an hour so expect £80-90 an hour.

A Lexia kit with Diagbox (excluding a laptop) will set you back about £100-130 - but you could think of it as an investment as it will work with Citroen, DS and Peugeot vehicles.

Steveo
Donor 2020
Posts: 132
Joined: 31 Dec 2019, 21:05
x 12

Re: Sat nav

Post by Steveo »

Hi Marc
Thank you
Much appreciated
Regards
Steve

Steveo
Donor 2020
Posts: 132
Joined: 31 Dec 2019, 21:05
x 12

Re: Sat nav

Post by Steveo »

Marc
I have decided to take the plunge and purchase a Lexia 3 from eBay.
It's a mine field out there though as lots of sellers are advertising full chip units that don't actually work on the C5 (or Pug 307)

I will have to check the firmware on the unit and would appreciate assistance in this matter if required.

I have also posted my Vin on the forum in the intro section and would appreciate any information regarding my car

Thank you again
Regards
Steve

Hell Razor5543
Donor 2021
Posts: 11664
Joined: 01 Apr 2012, 09:47
x 1394

Re: Sat nav

Post by Hell Razor5543 »

If you have not already ordered a Lexia from e-bay may I recommend you take a good look at the unit from Easy Diagnostics. It is not cheap, but it has the full chipset, and one year aftercare service.

Online
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 24373
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2665

Re: Sat nav

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Steveo wrote:
09 Jan 2020, 06:45
Marc
I have decided to take the plunge and purchase a Lexia 3 from eBay.
It's a mine field out there though as lots of sellers are advertising full chip units that don't actually work on the C5 (or Pug 307)

I will have to check the firmware on the unit and would appreciate assistance in this matter if required.

I have also posted my Vin on the forum in the intro section and would appreciate any information regarding my car

Thank you again
Regards
Steve
Hi Steve, many members here, including myself, have ordered from a UK based supplier Easydiagnostics. Although we are not affiliated in any way, they do provide a 15% discount for members.

Please see the link here and the procedure if you are interested. Although there are other suppliers on the internet - there are units of varying quality and this is usually reflected in the price. Cheaper units generally are not full chip kits and will have problems reading full CAN vehicles.

Here is the procedure if interested.

viewtopic.php?t=60112

You don't need to concern yourself with the unit firmware - this is updated automatically depending on the version you are installing. Remember you will need (ideally and highly recommended) a dedicated laptop, with Windows 7 32 Bit Operating system (64 Bit Operating systems will not support the included software for older cars). Plenty of info on the Diagnostics section of the Forum.

Steveo
Donor 2020
Posts: 132
Joined: 31 Dec 2019, 21:05
x 12

Re: Sat nav

Post by Steveo »

Hi all
Just a little question to the people in the know
Will the sat nav work (testing mode) without it being coded to the Vin
Just getting calculating route at the minute
I am using a generic sat nav antenna aerial
I have purchased a lexia 3 but as of yet struggling with the windows 10 bit
Thank you
Steve

Online
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 24373
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2665

Re: Sat nav

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Windows 10 not recommended....

There were issues with compatibility, you may have issues.

Next, if you have got a third party GPS aerial in place for testing, be aware that it can take a drive of at least 10-15 minutes for the system to lock on to the satellites. Standing still won’t work as it needs to ‘geolocate’ whilst moving.

The units are only designed to work once they have been coded. At best you may get the radio but with constant beeping. Other functions will be restricted.

Steveo
Donor 2020
Posts: 132
Joined: 31 Dec 2019, 21:05
x 12

Re: Sat nav

Post by Steveo »

Hi Marc
Once again thank you for your input
I hope to get the coding done ove the weekend
Regards
Steve