my way sat nav

This unit is the MyWay system, also referred to as RNEG, made by Harman Becker.
Main Features: Also referred to as RNEG, the MyWay colour satellite navigation system, has SD card, integrated European mapping, live trafic information, voice guidance and graphics in 2D or aerial perspective & it features a Bluetooth® system (Bluetooth phone compatibility only - no Bluetooth Audio Streaming).

Moderator: RichardW

derbyshire1970
Posts: 28
Joined: 31 Dec 2019, 12:05

my way sat nav

Post by derbyshire1970 »

Could you please offer some help , i have a 2011 C4 grand Picasso exclusive and the sat nav cannot find location, its currently sitting in West Africa
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 25387
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2825

Re: my way sat nav

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Hi and welcome. I have moved your query to the MyWay telematics section.

Normally, positional errors are down to not enough satellites being picked up. Your display should tell you how many satellites are visible. what does this say at present?

Second, if the battery has gone flat or has been disconnected, it can take a long drive (not standing static) for the positional information to correct itself.
Third, you could have an issue with the GPS aerial (possible water ingress at the seal) that has corroded the electronics, causing the poor reception.
Fourth, you could have an internal issue with the MyWay system. A factory reset may fix this, but be aware you will loose all your phone pairing and previous location history, settings - so be prepared to set all that up again - and of course it can take a while to resynchronise the address book once you have paired your bluetooth phone again - so if proceeding with this, best to let it sync. whilst you are out on a drive. if it gets interrupted (engine off) then it will have to start again.

Also, pop your VIN up here (it will be masked automatically from public view) so I can check the exact specs for you Picasso which will help with any other issues in the future too.
derbyshire1970
Posts: 28
Joined: 31 Dec 2019, 12:05

Re: my way sat nav

Post by derbyshire1970 »

Marc
First o all thank you .
The battery hasnt been disconnected,
where is the gps antenna located?
i have done a full factory restore and still nothing
VIN number VF7**************[VIN obfuscated, can be read by forum staff] The number of satellites is shown as 0
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 25387
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2825

Re: my way sat nav

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Ok, so we need to check the firmware version you have.

Press SETUP, then "system parameters" then "software version". Can you put the version you have here - there was an issue with some older firmware that affected the vehicle's position on the map.

Can you also let me know how many satellites are visible?
There are several versions of aerial available depending on fitted equipment - but in your case the GPS aerial is integrated into the main vehicle aerial on the roof. The base module contains the electrical connections.
derbyshire1970
Posts: 28
Joined: 31 Dec 2019, 12:05

Re: my way sat nav

Post by derbyshire1970 »

Marc
There are no sats visable
the software version is rneg_R29a_R29.01
User avatar
Paul-R
Donor 2020
Posts: 5401
Joined: 07 May 2009, 16:24
x 789

Re: my way sat nav

Post by Paul-R »

derbyshire1970 wrote:
31 Dec 2019, 13:22
where is the gps antenna located?
If your MyWay is the same as my eMyWay the GPS antenna is in the stubby antenna on the roof. That's for the C5 Estate version but I think the saloon is the same. And probably your car as well.
derbyshire1970
Posts: 28
Joined: 31 Dec 2019, 12:05

Re: my way sat nav

Post by derbyshire1970 »

Marc has confirmed the ariel is also the gps antenna
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 25387
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2825

Re: my way sat nav

Post by GiveMeABreak »

derbyshire1970 wrote:
31 Dec 2019, 13:43
Marc
There are no sats visable
the software version is rneg_R29a_R29.01
Ok, so you are on a relatively old firmware. I'll send you a Private Message shortly concerning this, in case you wish to consider updating it.
derbyshire1970
Posts: 28
Joined: 31 Dec 2019, 12:05

Re: my way sat nav

Post by derbyshire1970 »

Thanks. What are the dangers of updating. I am currently away from home.
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 25387
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2825

Re: my way sat nav

Post by GiveMeABreak »

I've put most of that info int he PM reply that I sent.

But like any firmware update to any device (TV, Blu Ray, Phone, Router) the very nature of writing new code to the device can be affected by a power outage, corrupt installation media or interrupting the process as examples. But if you follow the guidance you can mitigate many of the risks.
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 25387
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2825

Re: my way sat nav

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Ok, so if after driving for 20-30 minutes (standing static won't work) and there are still no satellites visible, then you can test whether the aerial is at fault. If you get hold of a cheap GPS aerial, you can plug this into the back of the MyWay unit GPS connection, bypassing the OEM aerial and see if that starts to pick up any satellites. If it does, then you know your issue is somewhere between the aerial and the GPS antenna on the roof.

I covered this on another thread, and the member bought one of these for testing:

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Clarion-all- ... 6946453006

Solved the problem, so he replaced the antenna.
derbyshire1970
Posts: 28
Joined: 31 Dec 2019, 12:05

Re: my way sat nav

Post by derbyshire1970 »

Thanks for the help. After driving 130 plus miles still the same. Ordered a new gps antenna £6. From amazon arriving tomorrow. So will see what happens
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 25387
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2825

Re: my way sat nav

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Ok, so it will be the blue connector at the rear for the GPS antenna. Again, give it some time to lock on to the satellites when you connect it up and leave it for a while. If you find you get them back - then that's your issue. Let me know if after testing you want the part numbers for a replacement.
derbyshire1970
Posts: 28
Joined: 31 Dec 2019, 12:05

Re: my way sat nav

Post by derbyshire1970 »

Still no signal
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 25387
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2825

Re: my way sat nav

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Ok, so if you've put the new GPS aerial on and the base unit is not obstructed from getting a signal, I can only surmise that it is the internal GPS module itself that is faulty. You may have a stored fault code that can be read by Diagbox (a generic fault code reader probably won't be able to read the system, but Diagbox can), which may show fault F955 (Telematic unit ECU internal fault (GPS module).

If that's the case, it'll need sending off for repair / or you'll need to source a replacement unit.