So the Xantia is terrible in the wet on budget tyres!?

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

ashy90

So the Xantia is terrible in the wet on budget tyres!?

Post by ashy90 »

Or is it just mine?
I know there is a lot to be said for premium branded tyres over cheap tyres. I always go for Goodyear, Dunlop etc. However I have owned and driven enough cars with all manor of different tyres including cheap tyres and have an idea what a car can be like on cheap tyres. But my Xantia is by far the worse in the wet weather. Its almost dangerous. It can lull you in to false sense of believing its grippy and adequate enough, and then in a different situation totally loose grip.
I have been driving the same route to and from work for 5 years in all sorts of cars - equally old/cheap cars such as my old Saxo or Rover 400, to brand new cars (work cars). I have never had an issue.

But I have now had TWO hairy moments on my route to/from work where my Xantia has lost grip. Once going around a bend and it lost traction and slid/under-steered quite drastically. Another time braking fairly heavily the ABS kicked in (way before I would have expected it to) and the car diddn't do much slowing down while I was heading towards the car in front.

It has Mohawk tyres, but they are all new and matching and at the correct pressure. The suspension is ok - new suspension arm and 4x new spheres, ride height seems ok etc. I know they are cheap tyres. But tonight following my in law in his 2009 Ford Ranger pick up truck, I could not keep up with him for fear of sliding off the road. His pick up truck has a mixture of different CHEAP tyres by the way.

Is this how Xantia's are? Or all hydro Citroens?
Michel
(Donor 2022)
My Cars: Some cars and a motorbike

Re: So the Xantia is terrible in the wet on budget tyres!?

Post by Michel »