Quote function not working properly

Forum News, Announcements and any issues you're having with the forum

Moderator: myglaren

User avatar
bobins
donor 2020
Posts: 2746
Joined: 05 Jul 2012, 18:07
x 676

Quote function not working properly

Post by bobins »

As per subject.
As at 10.15pm UK time, when I use 'quote' function, all I get in the text box is (example):

Code: Select all

[quote=bobins post_id=555959 time=1509902969 user_id=13646][/quote]

No text is present in the text box to edit.


Edit - Also getting the 'debug' script at the top of the page as per previous issue.

Second edit - quote function working in some posts and not others. Debug info visible in some, not others. I was able to quote from Myglaren in the P.E. Jukebox with no debug info visible, but I can't quote from my own text from an older post elsewhere, and debug info shows when I try.

User avatar
xantia_v6
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 7097
Joined: 09 Nov 2005, 23:03
x 360

Re: Quote function not working properly

Post by xantia_v6 »

I will look later.

User avatar
xantia_v6
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 7097
Joined: 09 Nov 2005, 23:03
x 360

Re: Quote function not working properly

Post by xantia_v6 »

I think that I have found and fixed a bug that was introduced with a software upgrade a few weeks ago.

Let me know if you still have a problem.

User avatar
bobins
donor 2020
Posts: 2746
Joined: 05 Jul 2012, 18:07
x 676

Re: Quote function not working properly

Post by bobins »

Issue fixed. Thanks for getting your tools out and fixing it :)

User avatar
myglaren
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 17192
Joined: 02 Mar 2008, 14:30
x 740

Re: Quote function not working properly

Post by myglaren »

It needed the biggest hammer in the toolbox.

User avatar
xantia_v6
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 7097
Joined: 09 Nov 2005, 23:03
x 360

Re: Quote function not working properly

Post by xantia_v6 »

Thanks Bobins for the report.

It turned out that there was an issue in the forum extension that makes attachments visible when quoted, but it only affected quoted posts where the attachment was added with an existing quotation (and perhaps some other cases).

It was initially confusing because the example given does not obviously appear to contain an attachment, but it does.

I reported the issue to the orignal author of that software and together we have rewritten the code so that it should now work correctly in all cases.