207 Ecu initialisation procedure

This is the Forum for all your Peugeot Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

johntom
Posts: 227
Joined: 31 Jan 2011, 20:22
x 1

207 Ecu initialisation procedure

Post by johntom »

Hi
I want to (re) initialise the ecu in my 2006 207 1.4, I’ve done this before a couple of years ago on lexia/planet but can’t remember how ?
Do I use diagbox or planet and then what do I go into ? Thanks

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 19520
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 1882

Re: 207 Ecu initialisation procedure

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Apart from the BSI reset procedure here, there is no reset I know of that you can do for the engine ECU short of a software update via dealer and the ensure all configuration options are correct for the vehicle.

BSI Reset / Battery Disconnect / Reconnect Procedure

johntom
Posts: 227
Joined: 31 Jan 2011, 20:22
x 1

Re: 207 Ecu initialisation procedure

Post by johntom »

The car starts first time and runs for about 30 seconds then stutters and struggles to keep running for a few seconds when cold. Whilst it’s struggling it seems to bog down but eventually you can get it to rev then it’s ok all day, also if you switch on/off when it stutters that seems to reset it? I had this before on another 207 and a new temp sensor/re initialisation sorted it out, see my post from nov 2017 ‘live data help please’

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 19520
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 1882

Re: 207 Ecu initialisation procedure

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Do you have a direct link to the post? - there are too many unrelated posts coming up on a search.

johntom
Posts: 227
Joined: 31 Jan 2011, 20:22
x 1

Re: 207 Ecu initialisation procedure

Post by johntom »

Hi sorry I don’t know how to create a link, it’s actually mis spelt on the actual post, it’s entitled ‘ Llve data advice please ‘

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 19520
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 1882

Re: 207 Ecu initialisation procedure

Post by GiveMeABreak »

That'll be the reason why it wasn't coming up!

So for reference for anyone else having a gander, the original thread is here:

viewtopic.php?t=58766&start=15

So reading through that, you seemed to have cured it once - I don't use Planet and this is an older ECU so maybe the reset your referring to is there as you've obviously used it before - but you'll need to run a global test or diagnostic, when complete, go into the injection ECU in the list - I don't have your VIN so I can't tell you the variant, but once you find it, select confirm and that will take you into the injection ECU menus - it will be in there somewhere - either repair, maintenance or similar.

johntom
Posts: 227
Joined: 31 Jan 2011, 20:22
x 1

Re: 207 Ecu initialisation procedure

Post by johntom »

Ok thanks

johntom
Posts: 227
Joined: 31 Jan 2011, 20:22
x 1

Re: 207 Ecu initialisation procedure

Post by johntom »

Ok thank you for replying. I will run the global first and hopefully find it from there. 👍

wheeler
Posts: 4047
Joined: 21 Sep 2002, 19:07
x 121

Re: 207 Ecu initialisation procedure

Post by wheeler »

Are you meaning to re initialise the auto adaptives?
Some ECU’s have this functionality & it should be done when replacing things like stepper motors, throttle bodies & oxygen sensors.

johntom
Posts: 227
Joined: 31 Jan 2011, 20:22
x 1

Re: 207 Ecu initialisation procedure

Post by johntom »

Hi
Yes I discovered that this morning but didn’t get chance to drive the car as stated on diagbox. Also there were codes for the upstream o2 sensor (which has been replaced), the temperature sensor, (short to earth?) also just replaced, 1 for the cat converter ageing and another relating to mixture (Haven’t got the exact codes with me), I did clear them but they returned.