306 HDi 2.0 Not Starting - Low Fuel Pressure in common rail

This is the Forum for all your Peugeot Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

petesk8
New User
My Cars: peugeot 306 2.0 Hdi Meridian
Nissan Primera

306 HDi 2.0 Not Starting - Low Fuel Pressure in common rail

Post by petesk8 »

Hello,

This is my first post on this forum so I hope I am doing it correctly. Also I am very new to the workings of the 306 so please bear with me if I and when I make mistakes.

My 2002 306 2.0 HDI refuses to start and I am wondering if any of the experienced member here can help me , or anybody else who has the same problems.

It was working happily one day , the next nothing. After a few basic checks, forum reads and a lot of swearing I decided I needed a proper diagnostics device.

I hooked it up to the PP2000* (see footer) on my laptop and poked around a bit and now I think I am suffering from low pressure on the common rail.

Using the live data the fuel pressure from the high pressure pump is ~55 bar. As mentioned elsewhere on this forum the ECU doesn't activate the injectors until the pressure is 110+ bar.

A far as I know this could be due to 4 or 5 things.

1. Dodgy High Pressure pump. When these things go wrong do they suddenly give up or what?

2. Dodgy Fuel Pressure Regulator on the HP pump.

Using PP2000 I did an actuator test on this and I hear a click from the solenoid near the ECU but on the pump (where the FPR live) , no click.

I had my Lad cycle the test while I listened to the regulator through a screwdriver handle (for those who don't know press screwdriver tip to FPR body , place ear on handle
and listen - transmits the sound much better). I could hear a faint 'whir ???' but no click as I would expect from what is essentially a solenoid ? - more info required here.

(When cranking the Diesel pressure regulator OCR - was up to 40% - is the regulator a solenoid off/on , or some kind of variable opening device )