ESP/ASR issues + oily sparkplug threads

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

fieldsofelysium
My Cars: Citroën C3

ESP/ASR issues + oily sparkplug threads

Post by fieldsofelysium »

Hi all,

This is my first post and I'm a total beginner when it comes to the inner workings of cars, but I have been struggling with this issue for a long time now. My Citroën C3 (2010 model) has been having these intermittent issues related to ESP/ASR. The fault occurs usually when first starting the car (typically in the morning) but also sometimes even during driving. It recently occurred at the end of a 45-minute drive, with no recognisable trigger.

When I had this problem before, it also came with an anti-pollution faulty warning and the mechanic replaced all the sparkplugs, saying they were in bad condition. Some months later the ESP/ASR problem returned (no anti pollution issues) and was resolved by replacing the sparkplugs again. For a time I was using an OBD reader to clear the ESP issue and it often worked successfully and did not return. It has seemed like it is maybe a faulty sensor or something?

Now even the clearing of codes doesn't help much, the error is more persistent when it occurs (it might work again the next morning but not in the next hour). When I checked on the sparkplugs again I discovered that the threads/grooves were extremely oily (black sticky liquid) but the head of the sparkplug still seems to be in fine condition. What could cause this? With the sparkplugs out, when looking down into where I removed them from, there are even black specks and signs of this oily substance.

Any ideas what may be causing all of this? Due to the intermittent nature of the issues, I'm nervous about embarking on costly diagnostic expeditions and leery of mechanics who just want to replace random things and assume the problem is fixed, only to have this come back again.
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team