C4 touch screen and top screen?

This section is where Audio / Telematics Posts will be placed temporarily

Moderator: RichardW

jammie123321
Posts: 14
Joined: 11 Mar 2019, 11:30

C4 touch screen and top screen?

Post by jammie123321 »

hi this is my first post here

to cut a long story short I have a 2014 c4 Picasso vtr+ and my dad has the c4 Picasso executive + with the sat nav and colour screen. my dad crashed his car (his fault) and has said I can change the touch screen and top screen into mine if it can be done?

my question can they swoped over from his to mine? My car has done 38,000 miles and his has done 62,000 miles. will that be a prob?

is it a easy swop over? can it be done?

thanks

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 22655
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2345

Re: C4 touch screen and top screen?

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Basically No, it is not a matter of swapping them over.

Several things we need to know first of all. We need the VINS of both vehicles so I can determine what specs, year, exact model, and which equipment options are fitted to both.

The systems are coded to each vehicle so will not operate when swapped without recoding to the vehicle, but more importantly, there will need to be a check on compatibility, plus if they are, there will be other equipment that needs to be installed that you can’t see. On top of that you will need to ensure you have the right GPS aerial, telematics unit etc, and then the BSI and the head unit and screen ECUs will need to be coded for the new equipment which needs Diagbox.

Lastly, if your Dad has one of the SMEG units, these usually need specialist coding by the dealer to your vehicle as they can’t be done with a clone version of Diagbox, because they need server based downloads.

jammie123321
Posts: 14
Joined: 11 Mar 2019, 11:30

Re: C4 touch screen and top screen?

Post by jammie123321 »

Hi Marc just seen your reply and decided to sack my dad's car idea off lol. I have found a breakers with the full kit for sale top screen, touch screen, Ariel for £190 How will I know if it will fit it's says it's from a 2015 car

https://www.trents.co.uk/car-parts/make ... t-nav-unit

Cheers for the help

Jamie

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 22655
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2345

Re: C4 touch screen and top screen?

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Hi Jamie, you’ll still need to get it coded to your C4, plus you will still need to configure your vehicles’s BSI (main computer) to accept it and to configure all the other equipment options that may now be required due to fitting this unit.

I certainly would ask your local Citroen dealer first of all if they would be able to do this, because your vehicle’s BSI will very likely need a configuration download and update to allow the system to work with your car. These SMEG units don’t always allow configuration directly from Diagbox, but need an update from the PSA servers. Because your VIN will state you have a different system, it may need some jiggery pokery by the dealer to trick it into downloading the correct file.

These are not the easiest units to deal with. The dealer may say they are not authorised to do this too, or more likely don’t have the technical know how to do this.