Oil pressure fault, but no logged fault

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

User avatar
Cutac
Posts: 345
Joined: 28 Aug 2016, 19:36
x 20

Oil pressure fault, but no logged fault

Post by Cutac »

Hello,

I was driving my c4(1.4 VTi) today and the STOP light lit up and "Oil pressure fault" was displayed on the display. I was driving at a constant 90 kph(before I was at the motorway, 150 kph for 15 km). I put it in neutral when the warning pop up, but it went away after a second and a half and I continued to drive normally to home(50 km).
Diagbox shows no faults in "Find faults" or in faults journal(newspaper icon). At least no faults regarding the oil pressure or anything remotely related to the engine.
What could it have been?

I've gotten that warning two more times in these 7 years and 123000 kilometers. First time 4 years ago - 120 on the cruise control up the hill. The second time was last August(17 months ago) - 140 kph on CC on a flat road. Both times it lasted for a second and no faults were logged.
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 25415
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2831

Re: Oil pressure fault, but no logged fault

Post by GiveMeABreak »

There won’t be a fault code for the oil pressure switch if it’s an intermittent issue. It’s probably because you were going at warp speed on both occasions and the extra oil pressure generated. Just make sure your oil isn’t too thick or it may have problems circulating at higher pressures if there is any crud or blockages.
User avatar
Cutac
Posts: 345
Joined: 28 Aug 2016, 19:36
x 20

Re: Oil pressure fault, but no logged fault

Post by Cutac »

Warp speed? I was doing the speed limit. 90 kph is around 2700 rpm, there shouldn't be any excess oil pressure generated.
Current oil is Castrol 5W-30, on the next change I'll be using either Shell Helix Ultra 5W-40 or Mobil1 FS 0W-40.
User avatar
moizeau
Donor 2020
Posts: 1142
Joined: 12 Jan 2015, 17:08
x 164

Re: Oil pressure fault, but no logged fault

Post by moizeau »

Marc probably mentioned 'warp speed' because in the UK, with the pot holes and NRC you don't have a chance of cruising at 150k's. I used to cruise at over 200 k's, but that was on a bike in Europe on UK plates.
User avatar
Cutac
Posts: 345
Joined: 28 Aug 2016, 19:36
x 20

Re: Oil pressure fault, but no logged fault

Post by Cutac »

That's a shame.
This is where I drive most of the week and there is no reason not to drive 150, especially since it's within the speed limits 8-)
Image
User avatar
moizeau
Donor 2020
Posts: 1142
Joined: 12 Jan 2015, 17:08
x 164

Re: Oil pressure fault, but no logged fault

Post by moizeau »

Nice, you need to buy a bike and find some twistys
User avatar
moizeau
Donor 2020
Posts: 1142
Joined: 12 Jan 2015, 17:08
x 164

Re: Oil pressure fault, but no logged fault

Post by moizeau »

Oh, and don't post any more photos of your roads please......you'll upset the UK residents
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 25415
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2831

Re: Oil pressure fault, but no logged fault

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Yes, don't be putting pictures of roads like glass up here please - this is what we have to put up with: :hole:
Potholes.PNG
Or we'll have to come over and start assimilating your roads!

:borg:
User avatar
moizeau
Donor 2020
Posts: 1142
Joined: 12 Jan 2015, 17:08
x 164

Re: Oil pressure fault, but no logged fault

Post by moizeau »

I hope that's a very local road! As we we say here in France 'La Vache'(that's the polite version )
User avatar
Michel
Donor 2020
Posts: 1872
Joined: 29 May 2017, 13:50
x 407

Re: Oil pressure fault, but no logged fault

Post by Michel »

moizeau wrote:
03 Jan 2019, 00:30
Marc probably mentioned 'warp speed' because in the UK, with the pot holes and NRC you don't have a chance of cruising at 150k's. I used to cruise at over 200 k's, but that was on a bike in Europe on UK plates.


It’s allegedy possible to cruise at 215km/h on some UK roads, so a friend tells me, on a motorcycle late at night.
User avatar
Cutac
Posts: 345
Joined: 28 Aug 2016, 19:36
x 20

Re: Oil pressure fault, but no logged fault

Post by Cutac »

moizeau wrote:
03 Jan 2019, 00:45
Nice, you need to buy a bike and find some twistys

I'd like a Ducati Diavel or a Triumph Bonneville Speedmaster, but they're expensive and I'd rather buy the new 508 :-D
GiveMeABreak wrote:
03 Jan 2019, 00:57
Yes, don't be putting pictures of roads like glass up here please - this is what we have to put up with: :hole:

Potholes.PNG

Or we'll have to come over and start assimilating your roads!

:borg:

Image

Wait, your motorways are genuinely bad?
Ours are nearly perfect(they're a bit loud, compared to, let's say, Holland roads) but it's mainly because Croatia lives off tourism so we, in a way, need quality roads. On the Mediterranean the roads are sublime, be it motorways or coastal roads. But in the less populated parts of the country, they are somewhat bad.
There's a road which is rarely used since the early 2000's(motorway was build on it's route) and it's criminally bad. It can shake your car to pieces and it will make you deaf.
Image

But check out this road.
I LOVE driving the VTS on it in the Summer or late Spring. It's very quiet, grippy and 'flowy'. :)
Pace is high but revs stay under 4000, speed is from 70-110, traffic is non existent, I really recommend every motorist to try it. :)
User avatar
Michel
Donor 2020
Posts: 1872
Joined: 29 May 2017, 13:50
x 407

Re: Oil pressure fault, but no logged fault

Post by Michel »

GiveMeABreak wrote:
03 Jan 2019, 00:57
Yes, don't be putting pictures of roads like glass up here please - this is what we have to put up with: :hole:

Potholes.PNG

Or we'll have to come over and start assimilating your roads!

:borg:

Image



Those aren’t holes! Mere surface imperfections.

Bogotá has holes....

https://www.google.com/search?q=huecos+ ... 55VnCWTCMM
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 25415
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2831

Re: Oil pressure fault, but no logged fault

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Cutac wrote:
03 Jan 2019, 02:06
Wait, your motorways are genuinely bad?


When we don't have this:
Roadworks.jpg
We have these beauties:
Specs.jpg
Specs.jpg (20.67 KiB) Viewed 145 times
User avatar
Cutac
Posts: 345
Joined: 28 Aug 2016, 19:36
x 20

Re: Oil pressure fault, but no logged fault

Post by Cutac »

Oof, while it is funny, I'm sorry for your misfortune :mrgreen:
We don't have cameras but we do have interceptors. Which are quite easy to spot(I mean, you're driving over the speed limit and all of a sudden an Audi emerges from the right(or left in the UK(slow)) lane and starts going after you) and by the law, they need to take more than one recording of you driving over the speed limit, but since they're easily spotted, they hardly get a chance to make even one recording.
I really can't get it how can someone actually get caught by them.
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 25415
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2831

Re: Oil pressure fault, but no logged fault

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Those yellow speed cameras are one of a load of different ones we have here and this one is a SPECS camera. It calculates and uses your average speed from entering a zone and leaving it later. If your average speed is over the limit bingo, fine, points and possible court action!

Our speed police also have marked and unmarked cars, but with the laser detection units, once they’ve got you that’s it really. So you need a radar / laser detector with GPS too so that you can get some idea of hot spots before you enter them. Our problems tend to be not so much deliberate speeding, but the speed limits are now changing so frequently on a stretch of road, you can quickly forget the zone you are in, so I use mine as a warning and reminder. Works really well.