C4 VTS - How to upgrade to RD4

This unit is the RD4 or RD45 system, made by Continental.
Usually standard equipment unless another system is specified as an option. There are Single & Dual Tuner versions. RD45 features over the RD4: The RD45 has USB connectivity & integrated Bluetooth module supporting Phone & Audio Streaming.

Moderator: GiveMeABreak

lancia58
Donor 2022
Posts: 678
Joined: 30 Nov 2010, 08:02
x 5

C4 VTS - How to upgrade to RD4

Post by lancia58 »

I have a Citroen C4 VTS make year 2006, that has screen C. I consider to upgrade the screen C to RD4 unit , do you know what parts should I collect to do that ( but the head unit, LCD screen and its frame ) , I guess I have to change the harnesses , what is the cat numbers of the harnesses and harness routing diagram . Any more information is welcome


Thanks
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 26611
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 3110

Re: C4 VTS - How to upgrade to RD4

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Are you wanting to upgrade the Head Unit from RD4 to RD45? The RD45 provides integrated Bluetooth functionality.
According to your VIN, you already have the EMF type 'C' screen on your car (Part 6593T2) which should already be compatible.

But if you want the complete package already VIN coded, then consider a supplier like this that supplies both the screen, Head Unit, Microphone & Aux Cable in one bundle. It can be cheaper than buying second hand parts that need coding or that may need the software updating. I would send them an email to confirm compatibility.

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Peugeot-207- ... SwcLxYDJQn
lancia58
Donor 2022
Posts: 678
Joined: 30 Nov 2010, 08:02
x 5

Re: C4 VTS - How to upgrade to RD4

Post by lancia58 »

You are right I want the RD45 - So if I can code the VIN all I need is the RD45 head unit ?

Thanks
lancia58
Donor 2022
Posts: 678
Joined: 30 Nov 2010, 08:02
x 5

Re: C4 VTS - How to upgrade to RD4

Post by lancia58 »

BTW How do I know if my head unit is RD45 ? If not is it only a matter of reconfigure the one I have ?

Thanks
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 26611
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 3110

Re: C4 VTS - How to upgrade to RD4

Post by GiveMeABreak »

No, you don't have the RD45 - only the RD4 according to your VIN. They look identical but are not.

The RD45 unit has an integrated Bluetooth module and USB port that the RD4 does not. The RD45 unit removes the need for the separate USB connecting box and Hands Free Unit that was supplied previously.

The RD45 that you purchase must be VIN coded to the vehicle using a Lexia. The ECUs of both the RD45 Head Unit and Multifunction Screen (if buying another one) will also will need the correct parameters to be configured. You'll also need the microphone wiring too - which is included in that kit I linked to.
lancia58
Donor 2022
Posts: 678
Joined: 30 Nov 2010, 08:02
x 5

Re: C4 VTS - How to upgrade to RD4

Post by lancia58 »

Isn't it better to use an android navigation system with a touch panel like the one in the following link ?

https://www.alibaba.com/product-detail/ ... 4f89aogsWd

The only thing to concern is if it will display all the functionality that the C screen displays like parking sensor, trip computer etc'

Zohar
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 26611
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 3110

Re: C4 VTS - How to upgrade to RD4

Post by GiveMeABreak »

That is entirely your choice of course and I can't advise as to the impact on the car using third party systems. The unit claims to support a lot of additional services - but be warned! You will find that most of the features are optional and cost more - i.e. for DAB you will need a DAB aerial; the cameras are not supplied, nor is the OBD II info, nor the TPMS, nor the Dash Cam. Also you may need subscription or activation fees for some of the software including Apple for example. Then you need to consider all the wiring into the C4 dash and cooling! Once you add on the options the cost soon goes up!

As for the functions - the OBD info seems optional and that is showing trip info - so I can't say this will isplay the other stuff you wanted and you will probably lose car configuration options without the RD4.

Most importantly, you have zero rights, protection or returns with these people - so a very risky chance - in my personal opinion - but it has to be your choice if you feel confident to install it.
lancia58
Donor 2022
Posts: 678
Joined: 30 Nov 2010, 08:02
x 5

Re: C4 VTS - How to upgrade to RD4

Post by lancia58 »

As for the RD45 all can be configured by a Lexia mostly the VIN number ? I guess wiring is compatible with current car's wiring/harnesses ? All I have to add is

1) Microphone & Aux Cable
2) USB Cable


Thanks
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 26611
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 3110

Re: C4 VTS - How to upgrade to RD4

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Yes, you need the RD45, the microphone and AUX cable / USB if you don't have it and want it. You will need to code the VIN the the RD45 and you will need to configure your car options to the ECU when it is installed. I can help with that nearer the time as long as you have access to Lexia.

Regarding the screen - although you may have a revision 'C' multifunction screen in your car already, it MUST have a software version 72.2 or higher to work. If it is lower than this, you will need a later screen. Diagbox / Lexia should be able to confirm the software version of the screen.
lancia58
Donor 2022
Posts: 678
Joined: 30 Nov 2010, 08:02
x 5

Re: C4 VTS - How to upgrade to RD4

Post by lancia58 »

Any experience with the same kit from Ali express , see the following link


https://www.aliexpress.com/item/Applica ... b2d15c62ca
lancia58
Donor 2022
Posts: 678
Joined: 30 Nov 2010, 08:02
x 5

Re: C4 VTS - How to upgrade to RD4

Post by lancia58 »

Does this will also work with screen C or an LCD panel needed ? How is it interfaced with a cell phone

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/123358672442


Thanks
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 26611
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 3110

Re: C4 VTS - How to upgrade to RD4

Post by GiveMeABreak »

I won’t use Aliexpress so cannot advise about them.

As for the last link, no. That is RT3 System and needs the larger scree. It does not support Bluetooth or USB, so forget that one it is even older.
Wilsoni5
Posts: 1
Joined: 10 Jul 2020, 16:21

Re: C4 VTS - How to upgrade to RD4

Post by Wilsoni5 »

Hi,

I have a Peugeot 2012 207 SW how do I know if I have a RD4 or RD45? I can see BT Radio on my phone search but on the car display I have no phone option showing on the car display so I'm guessing it must be a RD4. Can anyone tell me if I would need to replace both the head unit and the display and how easy is it if I buy one a coded one from eBay? The car has rear parking sensors, a factory fitted Aux USB and 3.5 socket behind the ashtray.

Thanks
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 26611
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 3110

Re: C4 VTS - How to upgrade to RD4

Post by GiveMeABreak »

The earlier RD4 did not natively have bluetooth, but there was the 'Hands Free' kit that could be specified as an option. This handled the bluetooth elements and passed everything onto the RD4 and the multifunction screen.

I'll need your VIN to see if this was fitted to your vehicle at the factory though. The RD45 natively does support Bluetooth without the need for the additional module.
User avatar
xantia_v6
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 7964
Joined: 09 Nov 2005, 23:03
x 520

Re: C4 VTS - How to upgrade to RD4

Post by xantia_v6 »

If your radio has a button labelled "mute" it is an RD45, if not, it is an RD4.