2010 Citroen Despatch 2.0 HDI will not rev

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

Mercman
My Cars: Citroen dispatch 2.0HDI
Peugeot 307

2010 Citroen Despatch 2.0 HDI will not rev

Post by Mercman »

Hi all

I'm new to this forum so please bear with me!

I have a 2.0 HDI that lost revs 3 times in a 5 mile journey but recovered although now it is in the failed state. No EML!
The engine sounds almost knocky on tickover but is quite smooth. When I try to rev it, it gets to about 1,000 RPM splutters and throws smoke out of the exhaust. I expected to have an injector stuck open but have fitted a used one to all 4 cylinders, no difference.
I have fitted an EGR blank, no difference and have also changed the rail pressure sensor.
I have downloaded it to find no fault codes. I'm not experienced on these engines or diag equipment so am struggling, I am a technician though so understand how things work. My initial download had no fault codes.

I have had bits of advice from colleagues ranging from cam chain slipping to turbo waste gate stuck but cant really see either of these being intermittent and causing diesel knock on tickover.

Can air mass sensors cause this type of issue or is there anything common with these engines that can cause such reactions?

All help greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Tony
wheeler
My Cars:

Re: 2010 Citroen Despatch 2.0 HDI will not rev

Post by wheeler »

Is there a throttle butterfly in the air intake ? if so check its not stuck closed.
Mercman
Peugeot 307

Post by Mercman »

Well, a little development, thanks by the way wheeler.
I had a chat with the guys at my local Peugeot dealer today and we decided it was fuel related.
I replaced the fuel pump and the van now revs fine and sounds fine no load, was swarf in the fuel filter to confirm pump was failing.
The van ran lovely stationary but rattled like a bitch over 1200 rpm when driving.