BX MOT trauma

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

ohms69

BX MOT trauma

Post by ohms69 »

Hi all,
Took the BX in for it's MOT test and as expected they failed it on leaking front struts(despite the fact that the leaking is actually my attempt at solving the creaking...they never picked up on the creaking), front brake pads, which I knew about and excessive wear in the rear trailing arm bearings.
Now I'm no expert and would like your input on this... There is absolutely no negative camber on either rear wheel and having jacked it up and checked for play there is absolutely no gie in any part no matter how hard I try to get a bit of play.
What are they on about...have i totally misunderstood the definition of shot rear arm bearings, or are they just pulling a fast one?
There is quite a bit of wear on the rear tyres, but no more than expected for the mileage they've covered, and the majority is on the outer edge suggesting(if anything)too much positive camber[?]
Your input on this point chaps would be greatly appreciated.
I've been out with the jetwash and degreaser and have got rid of every trace of oil from the struts, do you think I'm risking it by taking it back withoput new struts? Incidentially since jet washing the struts go up and down beautifully.
One more point(nearly finished)... I've just been out counting the ticks. On standard driving height setting the ticks occur at 20 second intervals, and at the lowest setting this figure remains unchanged. What is the underlying problem do you think?
thanks chaps
mbunting
My Cars:

Post by mbunting »

Have the arm bearings been changed recently, or while these tyres were on ?
May be worth getting a new set of rear tyres before putting it through, then they'd have to check by physically pulling things and checking the alignment, rather than just looking at the tyres ( which they may have done to save time ).
uhn113x