Steering pinion

Dedicated to owners of Citroen GS and GSA models.

Moderator: RichardW

2cy
My Cars: 1974 Citroen-Cimos Ami Super Berline Luxe

Steering pinion

Post by 2cy »

Hi guys. I'm new with GS stuff so be gentle with me.. but my query is regarding the steering pinion used on the GS models without PAS. My own car is an Ami super of 1974 vintage, which of course uses the GS's 1015 engine with ancillaries, plus the 1220 gearbox and f.brakes (although the bell housing is unique to the super) ...so it uses quite a few GS bits.

My car's steering pinion's bearing is shot and the teeth are chewed up - so I need a new one (I'm hoping the rack isn't also damaged beyond use). It has a 7 tooth pinion gear - approx 25mm in diameter with these gears cut the whole length of the shaft going into the rack. The spline onto which the steering column clamps is likewise 25mm dia. And I was wondering if anyone had a pinion, from a GS (already out of the rack) that they could measure for me - to see if it's the same.?

The 2cv / Dyane ones are different insomuch as some of their pinion gears are cut only for part the length of its shaft, and then some used an 8 tooth gear also of 25mm cut the full length. But then I'm led to believe this changed for later cars (when they fitted smaller steering wheels) and the pinion ratio changed to 7 tooth of 28mm dia. (see below.. The top one is a 2cv's 8 tooth, and at bottom one is my 7 tooth).

NB. the length of steering column spline is not critical

Naturally I'm looking for a replacement asap.
Thanks,
Peter.

p.s. Similarly did the early GS use a 19mm dia., LHM., dual circuit, non-servo assisted master cylinder, with a single round pot reservoir ? Mine leaks so I need a seal kit.
Stonehopper
My Cars: 1975 GS Pallas
1967 2cv AZAM
Previously;
1982 Acadiane
1990 BX TZD turbo
1982 2cv Charleston
1971 AK 250
1978 AK 400
1982 Ami 8 break
1971 Ami 8 break
1979 CX Familiale
1960 2cv AZL (Belgian built)

Re: Steering pinion

Post by Stonehopper »