Xantia Radio Wiring

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

tim leech
Donor 2016
Posts: 634
Joined: 08 Feb 2006, 16:36
x 12

Xantia Radio Wiring

Post by tim leech »

Hi guys

I've fitted an aftermarket radio to the White car which is going to a new home Sunday, whenever I turn the ignition off and on it looses all its stations! Someone said you can move a fuse over to give it a permanent live?

How do I do this.
User avatar
CitroJim
A very naughty boy
Posts: 43889
Joined: 30 Apr 2005, 23:33
x 1784

Re: Xantia Radio Wiring

Post by CitroJim »

Tim, I can't tell you right now but will be able to this afternoon if the question has not been answered before then..
tim leech
Donor 2016
Posts: 634
Joined: 08 Feb 2006, 16:36
x 12

Re: Xantia Radio Wiring

Post by tim leech »

Thanks Jim
User avatar
Stickyfinger
Donor 2016
Posts: 9892
Joined: 28 Mar 2013, 22:05
x 740

Re: Xantia Radio Wiring

Post by Stickyfinger »

I had to switch over the Constant Live and the Ignition Live
User avatar
Mandrake
Posts: 8438
Joined: 10 Apr 2005, 17:23
x 423

Re: Xantia Radio Wiring

Post by Mandrake »

If the radio is wired in correctly you shouldn't need to move the fuse to stop it losing its memories.

There is one wire in the wiring harness to the radio that is always a permanent live for the radio's memory regardless of the fuse position.

The fuse position changes a second wire (which actually powers most of the radio when turned on) between being ignition switched or permanent live.

So to fix the problem properly remove the two position fuse and check which wire on the wiring harness still has permanent 12v with the key turned off - this should be wired to the permanent live/memory input on the radio.
RichardW
Forum Treasurer
Posts: 9647
Joined: 07 Aug 2002, 17:12
x 490

Re: Xantia Radio Wiring

Post by RichardW »

Yes, for reasons best known to themselves, PSA consider themselves above ISO stds and swapped the perm and switched lives on their harness. If the replacement unit has a short harness with it, it may have facility to swap over, otherwise if it plugs in direct you will need to find which is which and chop the wiring on the car to swap them over.
tim leech
Donor 2016
Posts: 634
Joined: 08 Feb 2006, 16:36
x 12

Re: Xantia Radio Wiring

Post by tim leech »

Ok chaps thanks,
tim leech
Donor 2016
Posts: 634
Joined: 08 Feb 2006, 16:36
x 12

Re: Xantia Radio Wiring

Post by tim leech »

Sorted, swapped the red and yellow wires over one the set and it keeps the stations.

Car went off to its new home today.
User avatar
Stickyfinger
Donor 2016
Posts: 9892
Joined: 28 Mar 2013, 22:05
x 740

Re: Xantia Radio Wiring

Post by Stickyfinger »

Job done....silly PSA :)
User avatar
chinkostu
Posts: 1180
Joined: 24 Sep 2014, 09:41
x 29

Re: Xantia Radio Wiring

Post by chinkostu »

Having owned peugeot/citroens for 7 years i dont know any different :rofl2: