C5 Mk1 sat nav (large colour display) - is it safe?

This section is where Audio / Telematics Posts will be placed temporarily

Moderator: RichardW

djoptix
Posts: 59
Joined: 30 Jun 2011, 07:18
x 1

C5 Mk1 sat nav (large colour display) - is it safe?

Post by djoptix »

Pretty sure I want a C5 estate.

I'm looking at one with the large colour display. Should I be worried? More to go wrong...?

Opinions welcome - informed ones even more so :)

Peter.N.
Donor 2020
Posts: 10439
Joined: 02 Apr 2005, 16:11
x 461

Re: C5 Mk1 sat nav (large colour display) - is it safe?

Post by Peter.N. »

The short answer is Yes, the newer they get the more there is to go wrong - doesn't necessarily mean it will of course. The most reliable C5 is the Mk1 with the 2.0. Hdi 8 valve engine.

Peter

vborovic
Locked user account
Posts: 1753
Joined: 31 Oct 2013, 18:07
x 17

Re: C5 Mk1 sat nav (large colour display) - is it safe?

Post by vborovic »

Are we talking about the car in general, or just the navigation screen here?

djoptix
Posts: 59
Joined: 30 Jun 2011, 07:18
x 1

Re: C5 Mk1 sat nav (large colour display) - is it safe?

Post by djoptix »

Haha! Just the nav. I definitely like C5s, but mine has the smaller display (the one which does have radio and CD info).

I'm also looking at one which has the poverty spec display (just the clock) but I remember someone telling me that the sat navs were best avoided. Since it isn't easy to convert back from the big screen to a smaller one - the dash is different - I thought I'd get the forum's thoughts!

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 22570
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2328

Re: C5 Mk1 sat nav (large colour display) - is it safe?

Post by GiveMeABreak »

I can only speak from the MK1 Facelift Exclusive that I had with the RT3 Navidrive system and the more recent NG4 Navidrive on my X7.
Never had the Mk 1 original system (which had the navigation DVD unit separately I believe) so I can't speak for that specific system. It all depends on what your expectations are.
Speaking about the 2 systems I have had, I personally think they are great. Just don't expect 7 digit post code mapping as this isn't an option.
All these systems can be repaired / refurbished in the UK, including replacing the tuners which can play up with reception and navigation. You have to consider the age of the car and like anything components will need replacing over time.
Oh, and to answer your topic question - yes they are safe!

User avatar
Stickyfinger
Donor 2016
Posts: 10006
Joined: 28 Mar 2013, 22:05
x 735

Re: C5 Mk1 sat nav (large colour display) - is it safe?

Post by Stickyfinger »

I cannot for the life of me think how a SatNav is any good unless it has Full Post Code search.

A Farmhouse, with a Name down a Lane outside a village in the middle of Dartmoor.....NOT a CHANCE :)

BenC5HDi
Not Mike
Posts: 588
Joined: 30 Nov 2015, 21:21
x 33

Re: C5 Mk1 sat nav (large colour display) - is it safe?

Post by BenC5HDi »

Stickyfinger wrote:I cannot for the life of me think how a SatNav is any good unless it has Full Post Code search.
I agree! The first 7 digits of our postcode covers a whole estate with many roads and cul-de-sacs on it!

Online
User avatar
myglaren
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 19252
Joined: 02 Mar 2008, 14:30
x 1328

Re: C5 Mk1 sat nav (large colour display) - is it safe?

Post by myglaren »

Stickyfinger wrote:I cannot for the life of me think how a SatNav is any good unless it has Full Post Code search.

A Farmhouse, with a Name down a Lane outside a village in the middle of Dartmoor.....NOT a CHANCE :)
Does it allow a geographical co-ordinate search?

User avatar
Stickyfinger
Donor 2016
Posts: 10006
Joined: 28 Mar 2013, 22:05
x 735

Re: C5 Mk1 sat nav (large colour display) - is it safe?

Post by Stickyfinger »

The early ones did not even have "lanes" on the map...........£20 for a TomTom from fleabay and a map update for me :)

Online
User avatar
myglaren
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 19252
Joined: 02 Mar 2008, 14:30
x 1328

Re: C5 Mk1 sat nav (large colour display) - is it safe?

Post by myglaren »

Stickyfinger wrote:The early ones did not even have "lanes" on the map...........£20 for a TomTom from fleabay and a map update for me :)
Mine has no satnav so the same for me - except it was a free Garmin that needs updates but they are more than a new Garmin with free updates - dilemma.
Plus the updates need a Windaz computer :(

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 22570
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2328

Re: C5 Mk1 sat nav (large colour display) - is it safe?

Post by GiveMeABreak »

myglaren wrote: Does it allow a geographical co-ordinate search?
Yes, both the RT3 and NG4 Navidrive systems allow GPS Coordinate input. - But, to save a lot grief and earache, :-D make sure you spend your 2 hours calculating and converting the 'easting' and 'westing' and whatever else before you end up in the black hole of calcutta and beyond like Stickyfinger and I where there is no 4G, 3G, 2G or any other bl**dy G to be had! :roll: :-D

Online
User avatar
myglaren
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 19252
Joined: 02 Mar 2008, 14:30
x 1328

Re: C5 Mk1 sat nav (large colour display) - is it safe?

Post by myglaren »

Hmm, that's odd.
My Garmin - an oldish cheapish one, will accept co-ordinates and just go there (tried it recently when I didn't have a postcode but could see the place on a map that provided co-ordinates)

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 22570
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2328

Re: C5 Mk1 sat nav (large colour display) - is it safe?

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Just saying it can be a nightmare inputting into the NG4 RT3 systems depending where you bet your coordinates from and in what format they are in :-D You probably won't have that issue with aftermarket as they have proper UK 7 digit formatting.
It's just the way the navidrive systems were designed as the later RT6 units can hve a firmware upgrade to utilise 7 digits, so it's not Citroen being tight on paying the Royal Mail. And the 7 digit postcode data is contained in the 'Here' formerly Navteq maps but the system can't utilise it and there isn't n upgrade to change this, nor is there likely to be as technology has moved on (or backwards depending on your viewpoint)!

vborovic
Locked user account
Posts: 1753
Joined: 31 Oct 2013, 18:07
x 17

Re: C5 Mk1 sat nav (large colour display) - is it safe?

Post by vborovic »

GiveMeABreak wrote:so it's not Citroen being tight on paying the Royal Mail.
Citroen can't take the blame here, the nav devices aren't made by them ... the RT6 i.e. is by Magnetti Marelli ...

User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 22570
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2328

Re: C5 Mk1 sat nav (large colour display) - is it safe?

Post by GiveMeABreak »

So was the RT3 - the NG4 is made by Harman Becker. There is a licencing issue in the UK - it's a matter of who pays - the Car Manufacturer, or the mapping company or someone else - but it isn't free for business. We had to pay to use the database as a business. It's just a shame they didn't think of us in the UK or in Japan (although not sure how many Citroens there are in Japan :-D )!