Fitting a virgin BSI to a C5 SORTED

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

Stempy
Posts: 1626
Joined: 27 Feb 2004, 00:21

Re: Fitting a virgin BSI to a C5 SORTED

Post by Stempy »

Easy peasy lemon squeezy. Takes an age to reset all the parameters though, these cars have an ecu for everything! Only two I wasn't sure about, one was 'air pump' and the other 'gyroscopic sensor'. I'm guessing the first is diesel related and the second for ESP if fitted so left them as not fitted.
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 25968
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2958

Re: Fitting a virgin BSI to a C5 SORTED

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Did you have your original BSI specs to refer back to? Otherwise cracking memory! Well done on that - no mean feat.
Stempy
Posts: 1626
Joined: 27 Feb 2004, 00:21

Re: Fitting a virgin BSI to a C5 SORTED

Post by Stempy »

No specs noted down, just flying by the seat of my pants really. Funny, after the initial stages of putting the vin and code in it all bursts into life thinking it's a French left hand drive vehicle, the vdu won't let you change language and the electric windows work on the wrong side.
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 25968
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2958

Re: Fitting a virgin BSI to a C5 SORTED

Post by GiveMeABreak »

That would of been my first coronary!
wheeler
Posts: 5263
Joined: 21 Sep 2002, 19:07
x 316

Re: Fitting a virgin BSI to a C5 SORTED

Post by wheeler »

Yes the gyro sensor is for ESP but the air pump is only fitted to certain petrol models, not diesels.
Stempy
Posts: 1626
Joined: 27 Feb 2004, 00:21

Re: Fitting a virgin BSI to a C5 SORTED

Post by Stempy »

And a dealer would have charged 2 hours labour. If you have access to the internet config it would have taken about 15 minutes tops.
lexi
Donor 2020
Posts: 2808
Joined: 17 Apr 2008, 17:51
x 121

Re: Fitting a virgin BSI to a C5 SORTED

Post by lexi »

Well done! You can brim your tank with the dough you saved.
Stempy
Posts: 1626
Joined: 27 Feb 2004, 00:21

Re: Fitting a virgin BSI to a C5 SORTED

Post by Stempy »

The other thing I've just remembered is a 'power steering' ecu. Is this something for vehicles without hydractive?
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 25968
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2958

Re: Fitting a virgin BSI to a C5 SORTED

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Stempy - Had a browse this morning using my Hydractive X7 2.0 HDi Exclusive as the base model and according to the service docs the ECU is incorporated into the power steering electropump unit. My pump is part '4007 YX' for reference and is of the 'unvariable power steering' model. I believe the 3.0 for sure and maybe some 2.2 Litres models have the variable type - so may be different.
From the Document:
The ECU consists of 2 electronic cards (The electronic part is managed by a microprocessor and autodiagnostics)
2) ROLE
  • The ECU controls the electropump unit to vary the hydraulic pump LDS fluid flow from the following information:
    Engine running information
    steering wheel angle info
    Information: Speed of rotation of the steering wheel
    Vehicle speed information
    Information: Temperature of the power steering LDS fluid
The ECU seems to be around the top collar of the pump with a signal connector at the bottom.
According to the docs it says 'not applicable' under Programming / Initialisation.
Stempy
Posts: 1626
Joined: 27 Feb 2004, 00:21

Re: Fitting a virgin BSI to a C5 SORTED

Post by Stempy »

So when they call it 'power steering pump, do they actually mean Hydractive pump?
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 25968
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 2958

Re: Fitting a virgin BSI to a C5 SORTED

Post by GiveMeABreak »

No, the hydractive suspension system is serviced by the BHI (Built in Hydroelectronic Interface) that is housed under the LDS fluid reservoir on hydractive models.
Stempy
Posts: 1626
Joined: 27 Feb 2004, 00:21

Re: Fitting a virgin BSI to a C5 SORTED

Post by Stempy »

Actually I think mine has a belt driven mechanical steering pump so stupid question really.

A couple of faults have now thrown up, most likely due to it being standing unused for a few weeks. There is a suspension fault which the Lexia tells me is the front height corrector sensor or its supply.

There are two aircon faults listed, one external temp sensor has failed (again) and the other says blower fault, though the cabin blower works fine, it may mean the cooling fan, will have to investigate further. I guess if the compressor engages then the fan should run.
old-un77
Posts: 166
Joined: 25 Nov 2014, 20:58

Re: Fitting a virgin BSI to a C5 SORTED

Post by old-un77 »

On a sideways issue, my 1.8 16v '03 petrol pic speedo reads two dashes. no miles, ave speed /consumption updates.....
new speedo sensor, changed speedo cluster, no improvement

do you know/consider if a bsi change might rectify things? or does another ecu come into the equation? plus is it worth the outlay?

Bob
Stempy
Posts: 1626
Joined: 27 Feb 2004, 00:21

Re: Fitting a virgin BSI to a C5 SORTED

Post by Stempy »

Not really that much of an expert, maybe a Lexia session would show something up. You could at least measure the signals from the sensors. It's possible that a replacement instrument cluster wont work without being matched to the vehicle.

As to whether it's worth the cost it depends on how much it bothers you and whether there are other BSI attributable faults. Mine was develpoing more and more faults and the final straw was the battery being randomly drained over night for no apparent reason.

BBA charge £115 + VAT and shipping to test, repair and virginise a BSI. Mine had faulty components and was corrupt so was definitely in need of repair and so far is behaving itself again. There is a 15 year guarantee on the repairs also.
wheeler
Posts: 5263
Joined: 21 Sep 2002, 19:07
x 316

Re: Fitting a virgin BSI to a C5 SORTED

Post by wheeler »

old-un77 wrote:On a sideways issue, my 1.8 16v '03 petrol pic speedo reads two dashes. no miles, ave speed /consumption updates.....
new speedo sensor, changed speedo cluster, no improvement

do you know/consider if a bsi change might rectify things? or does another ecu come into the equation? plus is it worth the outlay?

Bob
There are 2 main things that I have seen cause this fault, water in the injection ecu but I would imagine you would be experiencing other running/starting faults by now too. The other thing that causes it is radio set faults, when I say radio faults I actually mean one of three things, kids using the CD slot as a piggy bank & posting coins (or other metal things) in the slot. using those little liquid filled air fresheners that clip onto the heater vents, they can often leak down the vents & into the radio. The third radio issue is an incorrectly fitted aftermarket radio, despite having ISO plugs on the car fitting an aftermarket radio is not normally plug & play.
Believe it or not in all these scenarios with the radio there is never normally any operating problems with the radio itself so it's not the first thing you think of. The instrument panel is the radios master ECU so a problem with one can affect the other, if the radio is the problem disconnecting it once the BSI has powered down should restore normal operation & prove the point