Citroen C5 tailgate wiring fault

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

michael maurice

Citroen C5 tailgate wiring fault

Post by michael maurice »

I have a 2003 (52) C5 estate.

Today I went to open the tailgate and its not opening its in the locked position.

I've had this before together with several faults caused by the wiring loom in the tailgate failing. An Auto Electrics place near me has repaired the loom on each occasion.

I'm now wondering what to do. Do I order a complete loom from Citroen or do I try and repair the loom myself or go to an auto electrician.

More to the point how do I unlock the tailgate?

It seems to me that the wire needs to be extra flexible.

I'm an electronics engineer by profession but have always shy ed away from Car electrics.

Can anyone help? I'm in Wembley NW London
Stickyfinger
(Donor 2016)
My Cars: Xantia V6 ACTIVA 3ltr 24v Manual p1
Xm 2.1TD Ph2 Exclusive
AX, little Daffodil
SAXO White Mk1. Sally

Re: Citroen C5 tailgate wiring fault

Post by Stickyfinger »

Alasdair
Activa, the Moose Rider
3x C5x7 Steering racks and counting
michael maurice

Thank you Alisdair, but the PDF refers to the rear window not opening, my problem is with the whole tailgate!
Stickyfinger
(Donor 2016)
My Cars: Xantia V6 ACTIVA 3ltr 24v Manual p1
Xm 2.1TD Ph2 Exclusive
AX, little Daffodil
SAXO White Mk1. Sally

Post by Stickyfinger »

From memory this is the way

Small flat bladed electrical screw driver .
You will see a small hole to the left of centre at about 10 o’clock in the lock (from inside).
Insert the screw driver into the hole and rotate the driver till you find what feels like a slot, now turn the screwdriver, this should now spring the latch open, you may have to try this a few times as its a bit of a fiddle.