reset an Electro Mechanical Miles recorded to Zero

This is the place for posts that don't fit into any other category.

Moderator: RichardW

User avatar
Stickyfinger
Donor 2016
Posts: 10005
Joined: 28 Mar 2013, 22:05
x 734

reset an Electro Mechanical Miles recorded to Zero

Post by Stickyfinger »

Does anybody know if/how to reset an Electro Mechanical Miles recorded to Zero ?

I have to change my French KMPH Speedo (at present only the face is changed to fool the MOT man) to a MPH one.
I have sourced the correct V6 type in MPH ( I love you Jim :) ) but I would like to reset that to either zero or to the correct KM/MPH.
I will naturally inform DVLA of this act. It would be nice to zero it. The unit is a V6 version
Image

Image

Image

addo
Sara Watson's Stalker
Posts: 7098
Joined: 19 Aug 2008, 12:38
x 4

Post by addo »

You want to reset a mechanical reel odometer to zero? Is that the question?

Peter.N.
Donor 2020
Posts: 10029
Joined: 02 Apr 2005, 16:11
x 368

Re: reset an Electro Mechanical Miles recorded to Zero

Post by Peter.N. »

I would think that if you remove the shaft with the 6 gears that drive the drums you should be able to wind the drums back - or forward.

Peter

addo
Sara Watson's Stalker
Posts: 7098
Joined: 19 Aug 2008, 12:38
x 4

Post by addo »

There's a little more to it than that, but they're not super difficult. What takes some practice is getting all the drums to line up correctly once they start to turn over.

I suggest making up a dummy driver with a drill and speedo sender for testing as you go.

User avatar
Stickyfinger
Donor 2016
Posts: 10005
Joined: 28 Mar 2013, 22:05
x 734

Re: reset an Electro Mechanical Miles recorded to Zero

Post by Stickyfinger »

Top pic....far left, there is a Key wheel, this gets set first, the others fall inline after you pop both shafts...

it seems....still to test. :)

User avatar
xantia_v6
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 7449
Joined: 09 Nov 2005, 23:03
x 416

Re: reset an Electro Mechanical Miles recorded to Zero

Post by xantia_v6 »

I seem to remember a pro trick is to set the wheels for 999998 or similar so that they all line up nicely when they roll over to 0.

RichardW
Forum Treasurer
Posts: 9247
Joined: 07 Aug 2002, 17:12
x 370

Re: reset an Electro Mechanical Miles recorded to Zero

Post by RichardW »

No need to tell DVLA - it's not actually an offence to 'correct' a vehicle's mileage - it is however an offence if, when you sell it, you misrepresent the mileage.

dnsey
Posts: 1543
Joined: 20 Oct 2004, 01:39
x 14

Re: reset an Electro Mechanical Miles recorded to Zero

Post by dnsey »

I believe you're supposed to write the date and actual mileage on the back of the speedo - wherever that is these days!

User avatar
Stickyfinger
Donor 2016
Posts: 10005
Joined: 28 Mar 2013, 22:05
x 734

Re: reset an Electro Mechanical Miles recorded to Zero

Post by Stickyfinger »

It was recorded on the MoT as KM traveled for the first registration......but that is a good thing to do I think along with making a note to keep with the cars history.

So, who wants to believe my car has done 2,500 miles since new :)....I can see the ebay description, maybe I will get a good price :)

Honest Ali's Car Sales.....hehehe