406 hdi seal around steering column

This is the Forum for all your Peugeot Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

bheath

406 hdi seal around steering column

Post by bheath »

Hi all, newbie here.

SWMBO's 2000 406 HDI had a seized universal joint on the steering column, just above the rack. I have soaked it in oil from underneath, but now I am trying to remove the big rubber seal where the steering shaft goes through the firewall to do a better job. Try as I might, I can only lift a small part of the seal away from the firewall. This should be simple, but I have no idea if something is holding it and I don't want to damage anything.

Can anyone please give me some hints on how the seal is fixed? Or the best way to move it out of the way?

Many thanks, Bill
CitroJim
A very naughty boy
My Cars: Bluebell the AX, Polly the C3 Picasso, Pix the Nissan Pixo, Propel the duathlon bike, TCR Pro the road bike and Fuji the TT bike...

Re: 406 hdi seal around steering column

Post by CitroJim »

Hi Bill and welcome :-D

If it's anything like the very similar Citroen Xantia (same floorpan) then it will lift out but it's incredibly tight...

You won't remove it with the steering column in place though, that will have to be completely removed first...
Jim

Runner, cyclist, time triallist, duathlete, Citroen AX fan and the CCC Citroenian 'From A to Z' Columnist...
bheath

Post by bheath »

Thanks Jim,

I don't want to remove it completely, just slide it up the shaft a bit so that I can work on the UJ from above. As long as nothing it holding it down I can try with a lever in the morning. Being unsure, I didn't want to use brute force. I cannot free it by hand!
CitroJim
A very naughty boy
My Cars: Bluebell the AX, Polly the C3 Picasso, Pix the Nissan Pixo, Propel the duathlon bike, TCR Pro the road bike and Fuji the TT bike...

Post by CitroJim »

It'll definitely need a lever Bill...