C8 Webasto heater help please !

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

jml
Locked user account
My Cars: A brilliant C8 2.2 HDi 173

C8 Webasto heater help please !

Post by jml »

Hi Guys

Newbie here with a brilliant C8 2.2 HDi 173 that has covered over 90,000 virtually trouble free miles. I'm hoping that some of you whizzkids out there might be able to help me with a self-induced problem I have !

I have to do frequent short journeys from cold and the Webasto heater that is fitted under the floor does a great job of heating up the car in cold weather. However I decided to fit a Kenlowe type 240v mains powered pre heater as well so that the cooling system would be warm even before I started. I've plumbed this into the under car pipe work that leads to and from the webasto unit.

I removed the webasto unit to do this - just a very small diesel feed pipe; a five? way block connector and the two coolant pipes. However, after refitting, the Webasto unit doesn't operate when it should (below 10? degrees) - it worked perfectly before.

My guess is that either I need to bleed the system or I've messed up the electronics.

Has anybody any experience of this and can give me any idea how to fix it ?

I even have the list of fault codes for the Webasto unit but no reader so, if it is Electrics, any suggestions for a really basic/cheap EOBD reader ?

I hope my first post makes some sort of garbled sense and is in the right place etc and I also hope someone can help !

Cheers
Julian Leyton (RIP) 2023
CitroJim
A very naughty boy
My Cars: Bluebell the AX, Polly the C3 Picasso, Pix the Nissan Pixo, Propel the duathlon bike, TCR Pro the road bike and Fuji the TT bike...

Re: C8 Webasto heater help please !

Post by CitroJim »

Welcome!