Cruise control

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

User avatar
swiveleyedgit
Posts: 72
Joined: 19 Sep 2014, 19:22

Cruise control

Post by swiveleyedgit » 08 Nov 2014, 21:13

Evening all, looking on ebay for a cruise control stalk to fit to my C5 there's plenty of them listed as fitting various Citroens and Peugeots even though they seem to have different code numbers on the little stickers. Are they all basically the same part? Citroen Service says the correct part number for my car is 6242Z9 but there's only one going on the bay with that number and it's up for 65 quid which is a bit steep, I can get a used one for half that.

User avatar
waynedance
Posts: 973
Joined: 29 May 2011, 22:56
x 8

Re: Cruise control

Post by waynedance » 09 Nov 2014, 09:58

Not sure on part numbers but guess it would have to be the right number. Have you got a price from the dealer as might not be that bad.

citroenxm
Posts: 7812
Joined: 31 Dec 2004, 00:10
x 27

Re: Cruise control

Post by citroenxm » 09 Nov 2014, 11:58

The stalks are all the same fitting, the difference is they are either JUST Cruise control, with on / off , or they also have a speed limiter too!

If you get a stalk with speed limiter its no problem the limiter simply wont work! I put a stalk in with limiter into a 2005 1.6 Design HDi, and when I select limiter it just says limiter not possible, but the cruise setting still works.

You will need Lexia to switch it on, but depending on what engine theres a different procedure to switching it on..

On Mark 1 C5's with 2.0 8v HDi engines you only need to switch it on in the engine ecu- which is what you have. You wont need any ECU codes to do it..!!! However, on S2 cars you need to switch it on in the BSI and the engine ECU, with the BSI you will need the access code too, which I now beleve is a generic code!!

I think S2 procedure is what it is because it shows cruise info in the mileometer under the speedo, where as Mark Ones dont show any info in any display.

User avatar
swiveleyedgit
Posts: 72
Joined: 19 Sep 2014, 19:22

Re: Cruise control

Post by swiveleyedgit » 09 Nov 2014, 13:12

Thanks for that info guys, I have Lexia on my laptop. And as far as I can see there is only the engine ecu that needs to be reset. There's a couple of new stalks on eBay being sold by dealers for about 60 , 65 quid, I would think that's a discounted price, lord knows what the 'proper' price is, I'm too scared to ask!

Miguel

Re: Cruise control

Post by Miguel » 09 Nov 2014, 13:15

swiveleyedgit wrote:Thanks for that info guys, I have Lexia on my laptop. And as far as I can see there is only the engine ecu that needs to be reset. There's a couple of new stalks on eBay being sold by dealers for about 60 , 65 quid, I would think that's a discounted price, lord knows what the 'proper' price is, I'm too scared to ask!
I got a secondhand one off ebay for abotu £30, but call your local dealer and ask. I'm almost sure the price new was only about £50 a couple of years ago.

User avatar
swiveleyedgit
Posts: 72
Joined: 19 Sep 2014, 19:22

Re: Cruise control

Post by swiveleyedgit » 20 Nov 2014, 18:06

Got round to fitting the stalk today, secondhand from ebay for 17 squid, I've managed to find the screen in Lexia where you can test the buttons and see them working which they do, but how to actually alter the ecu setting to recognise that the stalk is there is eluding me so far.

jgra1
Posts: 4409
Joined: 27 Nov 2005, 20:07
x 15

Re: Cruise control

Post by jgra1 » 20 Nov 2014, 18:59

bob also, you may need a double brake light switch... easy enough to get from a breaker etc.. but if you don't have it, cruise wont work.

cant help re lexia, it was a while ago I fitted mine ;(

citroenxm
Posts: 7812
Joined: 31 Dec 2004, 00:10
x 27

Re: Cruise control

Post by citroenxm » 20 Nov 2014, 19:46

You do NOT need any extra wiring or switchs putting in, its all there ready as they are!

You need to go into the Engine ECU, and then scroll down to Configure... and I think IIRC in there you will find a list of options that are Absent or present...

Change the Cruise to present and save! you shouldnt need any code or anything!

User avatar
myglaren
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 16073
Joined: 02 Mar 2008, 14:30
x 499

Re: Cruise control

Post by myglaren » 20 Nov 2014, 19:58

citroenxm wrote:You do NOT need any extra wiring or switchs putting in, its all there ready as they are!

You need to go into the Engine ECU, and then scroll down to Configure... and I think IIRC in there you will find a list of options that are Absent or present...

Change the Cruise to present and save! you shouldnt need any code or anything!
Don't you need to tell the injection ECU that it is present too Paul?

Have a vague recollection of Chris (citroenmad) posting something to that effect.

citroenxm
Posts: 7812
Joined: 31 Dec 2004, 00:10
x 27

Re: Cruise control

Post by citroenxm » 20 Nov 2014, 20:06

Engine/Injection ECU, on Mk.1s Steve they are one of the same... good point incase it causes confusion.

Series One C5 (Models to 2005) dont need the BSi changing only the One ECU needs changing, and on Mk.1s theres NO cruise info in either display.

On Series 2 C5 (2005 onwards) the BSi AND Engine ECUs (or injection) both need re configuring. The BSi change promts the Security code when done, but they do show cruise info in the milage window on the speedo, so you actually KNOW what speed you were last dooing when you knock it off.. On Series 1 you need to remember. As knocking either + or - back on takes the car back to the speed last dooing, and if you were dooing 70 and slow to 50 its quicker speeding back up then if you use the accellerator.

User avatar
swiveleyedgit
Posts: 72
Joined: 19 Sep 2014, 19:22

Re: Cruise control

Post by swiveleyedgit » 20 Nov 2014, 20:19

Thanks guys, loads of information there. I think I've scrolled through one of the absent and present menus but I can't remember which ecu it was for, there's hundreds of them by the look of it! Another session with the Lexia beckons (after I've had me dinner)

RichardW
Forum Treasurer
Posts: 8807
Joined: 07 Aug 2002, 17:12
x 303

Re: Cruise control

Post by RichardW » 20 Nov 2014, 21:39

All you need to know...http://www.frenchcarforum.co.uk/forum/v ... =3&t=45175" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

Ah, well, all you needed to know, it seems to have gone walkabout....I'll ask Jim if he can find it 8-)

citroenxm
Posts: 7812
Joined: 31 Dec 2004, 00:10
x 27

Re: Cruise control

Post by citroenxm » 20 Nov 2014, 21:40

No Richard, its there, well, the link works, ive not read through though.. do that now..

**EDIT: I see now, the PDF is missing from server updates no doubt!

RichardW
Forum Treasurer
Posts: 8807
Joined: 07 Aug 2002, 17:12
x 303

Re: Cruise control

Post by RichardW » 20 Nov 2014, 21:44

Pretty sure you need to go to BSI and injection ECU - and it's called something obvious like RVV in the engine ECU :lol:

citroenxm
Posts: 7812
Joined: 31 Dec 2004, 00:10
x 27

Re: Cruise control

Post by citroenxm » 20 Nov 2014, 21:46

Only on S2 C5s Richard, S1 C5s are more like Xantias, only the Engine ECU needs Cruise activating... My Mk.1 LX was like that, and also was another Mk.1 VTR I also did.

There was NO BSI entry needed.

But I had to on my mothers 1.6 HDi Design! Engine and BSi..