C5 X7 2-in-1 navigation tutorial

This section is for General Enquiries or for Systems not Covered Above

Moderator: GiveMeABreak

rafal85
Posts: 10
Joined: 05 Sep 2019, 10:45
x 1

Re: C5 X7 2-in-1 navigation tutorial

Post by rafal85 »

Thanks,

1.So it will just be plug and play for radio unit?
No any wiring cutting etc?

2.Currently i have external car audio amplifier connected to speakers, but since i did that there is also higher sound signal of parking sensors (they are too loud now , after connected external amplifier).
I've heard that some units have option to change parking sensos volume in lexia. (my myway doesn't had that).
Anyone know if other radio units (like RT4) had this function?
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 26538
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 3104

Re: C5 X7 2-in-1 navigation tutorial

Post by GiveMeABreak »

No - it won't be that simple. You will need to programme the vehicle to accept the new RT4 and will need to change some of the parameters. The Head Unit in the RT4 will have programming from the last vehicle. You will also need to VIN code it to operate properly in the new vehicle.

When you decide, post your VIN for your car and I can help you with the parameter configuration, but I'll need the VIN to determine the correct options.

There is no Bluetooth on the RT4 you understand.... The phone in the RT4 needs a SIM card.
rafal85
Posts: 10
Joined: 05 Sep 2019, 10:45
x 1

Re: C5 X7 2-in-1 navigation tutorial

Post by rafal85 »

GiveMeABreak wrote:
05 Sep 2019, 12:51
No - it won't be that simple. You will need to programme the vehicle to accept the new RT4 and will need to change some of the parameters. The Head Unit in the RT4 will have programming from the last vehicle. You will also need to VIN code it to operate properly in the new vehicle.

When you decide, post your VIN for your car and I can help you with the parameter configuration, but I'll need the VIN to determine the correct options.

There is no Bluetooth on the RT4 you understand.... The phone in the RT4 needs a SIM card.
No i dont know other radio units features, i just want to have navi +usb/hdd mp3 support, not need bluetooth.

Is there any page with radio functions compramisions?
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 26538
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 3104

Re: C5 X7 2-in-1 navigation tutorial

Post by GiveMeABreak »

RT4 has:
Internal HDD
Jukebox Function (copying of MP3 files / CDs to internal HDD)
Plays MP3 CDs from single Slot or from USB
Built in Telephone (with compatible SIM) and Directory
Voice Commands
External Video / Aux input
Navigation
rafal85
Posts: 10
Joined: 05 Sep 2019, 10:45
x 1

Re: C5 X7 2-in-1 navigation tutorial

Post by rafal85 »

I see two different front panels (with "MP3" or "MP3 HDD" above cd insert slot).
They are both same?
Attachments
2019-09-08 12_20_34-Window.png
2019-09-08 12_19_46-Window.png
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 26538
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 3104

Re: C5 X7 2-in-1 navigation tutorial

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Yes, RT4 has a hard drive. One is probably later than the other, that's all.
rafal85
Posts: 10
Joined: 05 Sep 2019, 10:45
x 1

Re: C5 X7 2-in-1 navigation tutorial

Post by rafal85 »

Last question, if i buy this one (attached pics) from Citroen C4, will work in C5 - is the same model with harddrive?
Attachments
radio3.PNG
radio2.PNG
radio1.PNG
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 26538
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 3104

Re: C5 X7 2-in-1 navigation tutorial

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Yes they are interchangeable. - but remember you will need to VIN code it to your car and set the correct options for the Head Unit as per your vehicle's equipment.
rafal85
Posts: 10
Joined: 05 Sep 2019, 10:45
x 1

Re: C5 X7 2-in-1 navigation tutorial

Post by rafal85 »

GiveMeABreak wrote:
22 Sep 2019, 16:22
Yes they are interchangeable. - but remember you will need to VIN code it to your car and set the correct options for the Head Unit as per your vehicle's equipment.
Lexia will do this job?
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 26538
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 3104

Re: C5 X7 2-in-1 navigation tutorial

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Lexia should but Diagbox will load by dafault for a C5 X7, yes.

If you have Diagbox and nearer the time when you come to fit it and need some help with the configuration, post up your VIN and I'll be able to confirm the parameters for your vehicle factory fitted options, allowing for RT4 update.
rafal85
Posts: 10
Joined: 05 Sep 2019, 10:45
x 1

Re: C5 X7 2-in-1 navigation tutorial

Post by rafal85 »

GiveMeABreak wrote:
22 Sep 2019, 20:21
Lexia should but Diagbox will load by dafault for a C5 X7, yes.

If you have Diagbox and nearer the time when you come to fit it and need some help with the configuration, post up your VIN and I'll be able to confirm the parameters for your vehicle factory fitted options, allowing for RT4 update.
Great, i just bought unit and i'm waiting for shipment.
My vin below.
VF7**************[VIN obfuscated, can be read by forum staff]
So i just need set other navi type in lexia and provide vin from my car in lexia and thats all?
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 26538
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 3104

Re: C5 X7 2-in-1 navigation tutorial

Post by GiveMeABreak »

Not quite that simple - I'll need to check vehicle options fitted to your car (tuners / aerial type / amp / type of parking assistance / etc.) Let me know when you are set up. Bu to have a read of the guidance as a new Lexia / Diagbox user here:

https://www.frenchcarforum.co.uk/forum/ ... hp?t=60600

Be warned that if you change some options not designed for your vehicle (as some features are there to support other vehicle types and models in the PSA range), that you can brick your car and make it inoperable. It's all explained in the post.
rafal85
Posts: 10
Joined: 05 Sep 2019, 10:45
x 1

Re: C5 X7 2-in-1 navigation tutorial

Post by rafal85 »

GiveMeABreak wrote:
02 Oct 2019, 11:05
Not quite that simple - I'll need to check vehicle options fitted to your car (tuners / aerial type / amp / type of parking assistance / etc.) Let me know when you are set up. Bu to have a read of the guidance as a new Lexia / Diagbox user here:

https://www.frenchcarforum.co.uk/forum/ ... hp?t=60600

Be warned that if you change some options not designed for your vehicle (as some features are there to support other vehicle types and models in the PSA range), that you can brick your car and make it inoperable. It's all explained in the post.
I installed radio, reconfigured with lexia (parking sensors, vin, set climatization 2zones).

Looks like working fine but :
Steering wheel roll buton works good on main menu,but if go one level menu deeper then roll works up side down.
Climatization control dont works (i see info that is no connection to climatization)
RT4 has 4 fakra antena plugs (2 x FM, 1x GSM, 1xGPS).
And i had in emway only 3 antena (2xFM, 1xGPS) , but emway has function for emergency call so antena should be also somewhere?

I assume i need use mircascript to fix roller?

But what with display climatization?
User avatar
GiveMeABreak
Forum Admin Team
Posts: 26538
Joined: 15 Sep 2015, 19:38
x 3104

Re: C5 X7 2-in-1 navigation tutorial

Post by GiveMeABreak »

So you've jumped the gun a bit...

As I can't know what you have changed, I suggest you do a screen shot of each page of the configuration options in the RT4 ECU. It will be easier for me to compare this way, rather than ask you what you have set for the 100 options!

One obvious one to me is I think you have probably set Air Conditioning wrongly. That needs to be set to NO AIR CONDITIONING in the RT4 ECU using Diagbox. It means something else here - not that you don't have it as I was trying to explain in my last post.

Post up your screen shots and I will go through and cross reference what you should have.

As for the aerial - you previously had MyWay (RNEG) and not eMyWay (RT6).
You still have in your car an independent telematic unit behind the dashboard. This is how the emergency call in the event of airbag triggering is made. It has 2 aerials built into the unit - which is why you don't currently have a GSM aerial.

This may also be an issue we need to sort out as when the airbag triggers in an accident, the independent telematic unit calls the emergency services and alerts them to your geo location. As this is a function that the RT4 system has built in, you have to decide whether you want to try and redirect the control wire from the independent telematic unit to the RT4 unit - (a lot of hassle) or forget that function and leave it. I can't say if there will be a conflict once you have RT4 working correctly and the independent telematic unit over this issue... It might be the case you can leave them as they are and hope it won't cause conflict or disable the independent telematic unit and do do without the airbag emergency call function...

Next - because you have now installed an RT4, you will need a GPS aerial in order for the phone module of the RT4 to work.

Your current Aerial is part number: 6561QZ (FM1 // FM2 // GPS)
You need: 6561QY (FM1 // FM2 // GPS // GSM)

Or you may have to source a separate GSM aerial and mount it separately.....

Let me know what you want to do - but screenshots of your Diagbox configuration will be the quickest and easiest way to check configuration.
rafal85
Posts: 10
Joined: 05 Sep 2019, 10:45
x 1

Re: C5 X7 2-in-1 navigation tutorial

Post by rafal85 »

GiveMeABreak wrote:
04 Oct 2019, 12:37
So you've jumped the gun a bit...

As I can't know what you have changed, I suggest you do a screen shot of each page of the configuration options in the RT4 ECU. It will be easier for me to compare this way, rather than ask you what you have set for the 100 options!

One obvious one to me is I think you have probably set Air Conditioning wrongly. That needs to be set to NO AIR CONDITIONING in the RT4 ECU using Diagbox. It means something else here - not that you don't have it as I was trying to explain in my last post.

Post up your screen shots and I will go through and cross reference what you should have.

As for the aerial - you previously had MyWay (RNEG) and not eMyWay (RT6).
You still have in your car an independent telematic unit behind the dashboard. This is how the emergency call in the event of airbag triggering is made. It has 2 aerials built into the unit - which is why you don't currently have a GSM aerial.

This may also be an issue we need to sort out as when the airbag triggers in an accident, the independent telematic unit calls the emergency services and alerts them to your geo location. As this is a function that the RT4 system has built in, you have to decide whether you want to try and redirect the control wire from the independent telematic unit to the RT4 unit - (a lot of hassle) or forget that function and leave it. I can't say if there will be a conflict once you have RT4 working correctly and the independent telematic unit over this issue... It might be the case you can leave them as they are and hope it won't cause conflict or disable the independent telematic unit and do do without the airbag emergency call function...

Next - because you have now installed an RT4, you will need a GPS aerial in order for the phone module of the RT4 to work.

Your current Aerial is part number: 6561QZ (FM1 // FM2 // GPS)
You need: 6561QY (FM1 // FM2 // GPS // GSM)

Or you may have to source a separate GSM aerial and mount it separately.....

Let me know what you want to do - but screenshots of your Diagbox configuration will be the quickest and easiest way to check configuration.
Really appreciate your help,but i have lexia in other language and it will be unreadable for you.
I've spent some time and most issues are fixed.
I did software upgrade from 7.1 to 8.11 and unlock usb mp3 support.
Last thing to do is:
- button List on wheel is not working
- roll button on main menu working fine, but when i go deep in menu then work up-side-down
I've found in mirascript description - that should be options to change?

Code: Select all

VMF/VCCF" 0 or 1 or 2 related to button on steering wheel commands