Central locking not locking rear doors

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

sparksie
(Donor 2016)
My Cars:

Central locking not locking rear doors

Post by sparksie »

Hi all

I'm new to Citroens, having just bough my first one, a 2000 Xantia 1.9Td.
I have a couple of issues that don't seem to have been covered here already.
The first, and most frustrating, is the central locking. It opens all doors, when either front door is opened with the key, but doesn't lock either rear door, when the fronts are locked.
The actuators can be heard moving and the lock buttons become free, allowing the doors to be manually locked, but there's no hint of movement in the mechanism.
Also, probably not related, but in a similar vein, the nsf door can not be opened from inside. The handle can be felt picking up the linkage, but it's very loose compared to the other doors. The only way for the passenger to open the door is to wind down the window and use the outside handle. Hardly ideal, especially in winter!
I've searched and not found anything about this. Anybody had this issue, or know what the trouble is?
Cheers

Sparksie
Sparksie

2000 Xantia 1.9TurboD
sparksie
(Donor 2016)
My Cars:

Re: Central locking not locking rear doors

Post by sparksie »

Ok
Having loaned out my usual car to a customer, I ended up using the Cit today.
SWMBO was NOT AMUSED at having to open a window to get out of the car.
As a result, while she went shopping, I had a fun filled hour in a cold, wet, windy car park, with only a very basic set of tools, figuring out how to dismantle the door card! Luckily I had a couple of slot screwdrivers that were the right size to work in the three different sizes of Torx screws holding it all together.
By the time I got it all apart enough to see what was going on, light was becoming scarce, so I resorted to a bodge.