Xantia HDI 110 Clutch Problem

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

Hurdsey
My Cars:

Xantia HDI 110 Clutch Problem

Post by Hurdsey »

2001 HDI with 28500 on the clock.
The 'bite' on the clutch has allways been about halfway along the pedal travel, however over the past week or so the pedal seems to be dissapearing from under my foot, the 'bite is now right at the bottom of the travel and after only about 6mm of movement is fully out then there is a load of free play in the pedal.
Is it the cable?
is it the clutch?
can you adjust either of these?
I've been driving for about 35 years (mainly Fords) and only ever needed one clutch, my last car was a ZX1.9TD and i sold it with 48,000 on the clock with no signs of wear, so i know I'm not 'heavy' on clutches, 28,500 sounds a bit soon to be needing a new clutch,
any suggestions? how much approx for a new clutch fitted?
I'm going to phone around later today for comparisons anyway.
BTW
where can i get a workshop manual for one of these as Haynes dont seem to do one.
RichardW
Forum Treasurer
My Cars: MK2 '17 C4GP 1.6 BlueHDi 120
'13 3008 1.6 HDi GripControl

Post by RichardW »

Hurdsey,
The clutch on these is hydraulic so can't be adjusted. It is supposed to be a sealed-for-life unit (master, pipework, and slave all in one), I have however heard reports of them losing fluid. I have also heard reports that there were clutch problems on some of the early ones, whereby the clutch only lasted about 30k, and needed replacing[:(] - the operating mechanism was shot, whilst the friction plate was less than 20% worn. Either way you're probably going to need to get someone in the know to look at it - you could try and establish if it is the clutch or the operating system by looking at the operating end whilst someone else pumps the clutch to see if you think it is getting full movement - of course you have nothing to compare it with!