Lexia install help for idiot please..

This is the place for posts that don't fit into any other category.

Moderator: RichardW

Northern_Mike

Lexia install help for idiot please..

Post by Northern_Mike » 07 Jul 2013, 01:21

Well, my little HP2510P finally bit the dust. I had got bored of having to put it's docking station in the car to use Lexia anyway. It has passed on..

So, being a nerd that I am, I decided it must be possible to use a VM within Windows 7 to run Lexia, to save the expense and hassle of getting another old XP machine.

So, I downloaded Virtualbox, installed XPSP3 on a VM. All good.

Installed Lexia.

Disabled the "unknown device" on the USB in the host PC.

Let the VM pick up the Lexia cable.

All good.

Connected it to the car, it saw the car, got the VIN, make and model correct.

Then it asked me to activate.

I'm damned if I can get it to work. I'm following the picture diags on the install software, but to no avail.

Any ideas? I've got the VM set to no network connection and no AV, so it's not reporting home.

I think my question must be - do I set my PC code during install to that on the pictures, or do I leave it as 0?

I'm obviously doing something dumb. I was so excited when I got it to work in Virtualbox that I went outside at 1am to test it.. then couldn't activate it. Gutted.

Help please!

User avatar
CitroJim
A very naughty boy
Posts: 41564
Joined: 30 Apr 2005, 23:33
x 1052

Re: Lexia install help for idiot please..

Post by CitroJim » 07 Jul 2013, 06:27

That's bloody odd on the Lexia front Mike...

One thing I know is that the window in the keygen is one digit short of displaying the whole code so make sure you scroll it completely both ways and ensure you copy the whole thing...

I've known this catch out a few - including me!

Hell Razor5543
NOT Alistair or Simon
Posts: 9640
Joined: 01 Apr 2012, 09:47
x 710

Re: Lexia install help for idiot please..

Post by Hell Razor5543 » 07 Jul 2013, 08:02

Well, I have got my Lexia working under Windows 7, and it doesn't need to run on a VM. After I have got my laundry done, I could pop over so that you can compare settings, or copy files over to see if that works.

User avatar
CitroJim
A very naughty boy
Posts: 41564
Joined: 30 Apr 2005, 23:33
x 1052

Re: Lexia install help for idiot please..

Post by CitroJim » 07 Jul 2013, 08:24

James, don't wash your laptop....

Hell Razor5543
NOT Alistair or Simon
Posts: 9640
Joined: 01 Apr 2012, 09:47
x 710

Re: Lexia install help for idiot please..

Post by Hell Razor5543 » 07 Jul 2013, 08:27

Darn. It is looking so grubby it could have done with a wash!

Northern_Mike

Re: Lexia install help for idiot please..

Post by Northern_Mike » 07 Jul 2013, 08:35

Hell Razor5543 wrote:Well, I have got my Lexia working under Windows 7, and it doesn't need to run on a VM. After I have got my laundry done, I could pop over so that you can compare settings, or copy files over to see if that works.

Interesting James.

Is this 64-bit Windows 7?
My main laptop is 64-bit, so I was running in a 32 bit XP VM.

User avatar
CitroJim
A very naughty boy
Posts: 41564
Joined: 30 Apr 2005, 23:33
x 1052

Re: Lexia install help for idiot please..

Post by CitroJim » 07 Jul 2013, 08:49

Northern_Mike wrote:Is this 64-bit Windows 7?
Slightly off-topic...

Someone at work asked why 64 bit Windows was better than 32 bit Windows...

The answer was this: because it has twice as many bits....

User avatar
Ben82
Posts: 1085
Joined: 03 Dec 2012, 08:47
x 2

Re: Lexia install help for idiot please..

Post by Ben82 » 07 Jul 2013, 08:51

64bit Windows (even 64bit XP) needs a 32bit VM for Lexia to run, Lexia is a 16bit application and won't work on 64bit OSes .
Disabled the "unknown device" on the USB in the host PC.
Whilst not important in this situation you can get VirtualBox to handle this, by adding a USB Device filter:
Image


Your issue is not an installation issue.... it's a common diagbox issue... after reading the VIN, unplug the USB cable from the computer, and plug it back in, then carry on. Lexia shouldn't give the not activated message. :)

Northern_Mike

Re: Lexia install help for idiot please..

Post by Northern_Mike » 07 Jul 2013, 09:35

Thanks for that Ben. I wasn't aware of the usb filtering. The host was picking up the hardware fine, couldn't get it to talk to the vm before I set it as a disabled device.

I shall have a play with it later after another day on the road.

Thanks for your help!

Thanks also to James for his offer of popping round.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2

Hell Razor5543
NOT Alistair or Simon
Posts: 9640
Joined: 01 Apr 2012, 09:47
x 710

Re: Lexia install help for idiot please..

Post by Hell Razor5543 » 07 Jul 2013, 09:58

No it is running a 32bit variant. However, when I got my Lexia from Easy Diagnostics they advised me that running it in a 64bit system could cause issues as only a few cars have the ability to work with a 64bit Lexia system.

User avatar
Ben82
Posts: 1085
Joined: 03 Dec 2012, 08:47
x 2

Re: Lexia install help for idiot please..

Post by Ben82 » 07 Jul 2013, 10:32

Hell Razor5543 wrote:No it is running a 32bit variant. However, when I got my Lexia from Easy Diagnostics they advised me that running it in a 64bit system could cause issues as only a few cars have the ability to work with a 64bit Lexia system.
There's a distinction that needs to be made here.. Diagbox is the more modern looking application, with pictures etc Lexia is the one that looks like this:
Image

I can't remember the cut off period, but any that use Lexia above will not run on 64bit... Modern cars that use Diagbox rather than Lexia will work on 64bit (because they never use the ghastly yellow and red application).

User avatar
spider
Posts: 3949
Joined: 05 Jan 2010, 15:28
x 63

Re: Lexia install help for idiot please..

Post by spider » 07 Jul 2013, 10:54

V7 will work on 32 bit Windows 7 (and sort of on 8 but not tested that properly)

Northern_Mike

Re: Lexia install help for idiot please..

Post by Northern_Mike » 07 Jul 2013, 10:58

I'm definitely using Lexia... v345.13 or at least that's what I put in when I'm installing it.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2

Northern_Mike

Re: Lexia install help for idiot please..

Post by Northern_Mike » 07 Jul 2013, 21:37

OK, well, I've got it running and activated. I'm not 100% sure why it activated this time and not the last time.

The great thing about VMs is that you can just zap them and create another - so I did, installed Lexia, activated it and it works. I can see car, read the VIN and do a global scan for errors.

BUT... (there's always a but)

If I try to do anything else, I get "communication with the ECU was interrupted, please reset the device to continue".

I get this error whatever I do - try to read the faults from the injection ECU, try to run actuator tests etc.

It doesn't (or didn't) happen on the other machine with the same cable and software, so it must be something to do with the USB comms or the way I've sent the cable driver up.

Any ideas before I try and reinstall? Does anyone know what the correct inf file for the cable is? I did get an error at the start saying the device wasn't correctly installed, but after a reboot it went away.

thanks all..