Can I improve MPG?

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

Tully

Can I improve MPG?

Post by Tully »

Hi Everyone

I've recently joined the Forum with my first Citroen, a 2003 C5 2.2HDi semi-auto.
I enjoy the car but I'm quite disappointed with the relatively poor mpg, especially compared to my last car, a Saab 9-3, also a 2.2 Diesel.
I've put this down to one reason, agree/mock at your leisure :lol:

*The turbo kicks in at 2500rpm*

I'm no engineer so bear with me - 2500rpm in top gear = 75mph. With the turbo spinning this "takes the weight", as it were, off the engine. This delivers approx 45-55mpg.
At, say, 2000rpm the engine is doing all the work with no help from the turbo, resulting in 28-35mpg or thereabouts.
This means it's more economical to drive at 75-80mph than it is at 55-60mph.

Ok, to the point (please.... :roll: )
Using a Lexia, or something similar, can the engine management system be reprogrammed for the turbo to kick in at 2000rpm?

Ha...I know you're all going to say "just drive faster then" #-o

Best regards

Tully
Craig

C5 2.2 hdi exclusive semi-auto
Seat Alhambra 1.9 tdi (Cavey-mobile)
GPZ750R modified (for sale)
Missing my Saab 9-3
qprdude
My Cars: Renault 5 TS, Renault 14ts, Citroen C5 Mk1, Renault Clio sport, Renault Laguna Privilege. Citroen C5 X7 Exclusive. Citroen DS5 D/sport . And around 25+ other brands from Morris Oxford to S Type jag and most things between.

Re: Can I improve MPG?

Post by qprdude »

2.2 not known to be frugal and almost certainly won't match the Saab for mpg. I swapped a 9-3 1.9 TiD for a C5 X7 and the mpg is way down. On a 500 mile trip, I got under 40 mpg, admittedly with a very heavy right foot. No doubt there are ways of getting a better return but don't expect miracles. Someone will be along soon to help.
Rick.

2013 Citroen DS 5 D/Sport
2007 Renault Clio Campus sport. 1.2l

Sometimes the change doesn't work.
Chlorate
My Cars:

Post by Chlorate »