lexia 3 clone

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

bill196510
Posts: 158
Joined: 12 Jan 2013, 22:15

lexia 3 clone

Post by bill196510 » 22 Apr 2013, 12:37

thinking of buying a clone off eBay, what one would be compatable with c5 2.2hdi 2003, and what is diagbox lol.
think I need lessons,
how hard is it too use,
dredded limp mode again,lol.

would I need to use xp,got it on CD :-)
Last edited by bill196510 on 22 Apr 2013, 21:51, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
oneday
Posts: 663
Joined: 15 Aug 2012, 22:49

Re: lexia 3 clone

Post by oneday » 22 Apr 2013, 18:04

bill your welcome to have a play with mine if you want to try it out first

Hell Razor5543
NOT Alistair or Simon
Posts: 9527
Joined: 01 Apr 2012, 09:47
x 679

Re: lexia 3 clone

Post by Hell Razor5543 » 22 Apr 2013, 18:38

If you decide to get the one from Easy Diagnostics it works with Windows 7 (I know, because it is working on my netbook). It costs about £120 (inc p&p), but if you mention you are a member of this forum they drop the price to £110. It is current (mine came with diagbox 7.06, and only recently has the update to 7.07 become available), and will handle your car.

When you phone them, they will ask several questions to help to get it all working. One question they will ask is if the installation machine is running a 64bit O/S, as this will limit what cars it will work on (as there are only a few cars that can handle 64bit comms). If you can pay via PayPal so much the better.

User avatar
Ben82
Posts: 1085
Joined: 03 Dec 2012, 08:47
x 2

Re: lexia 3 clone

Post by Ben82 » 22 Apr 2013, 18:57

Hell Razor5543 wrote:(mine came with diagbox 7.06, and only recently has the update to 7.07 become available)
7.10 has been around for almost 2 weeks :P

There was a link somewhere to another guy that sold a few to forum members here for a lot less (about £70 I think) and was just as helpful as Easy Diagnostics.

EDIT: Here it is: http://www.ukpolboy.comoj.com/1_8_Lexia ... cable.html" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
And the reference thread: http://www.frenchcarforum.co.uk/forum/v ... ia#p361280" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

bill196510
Posts: 158
Joined: 12 Jan 2013, 22:15

Re: lexia 3 clone

Post by bill196510 » 22 Apr 2013, 19:06

oneday wrote:bill your welcome to have a play with mine if you want to try it out first


http://proxybay.net/search/lexia/0/7/300" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;


when would be conveniant for you

User avatar
Ben82
Posts: 1085
Joined: 03 Dec 2012, 08:47
x 2

Re: lexia 3 clone

Post by Ben82 » 22 Apr 2013, 19:10

bill196510 wrote: http://proxybay.net/search/lexia/0/7/300" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;
They all seem old versions of the software. Latest you can get (pretty much from the source) over here.

User avatar
Mandrake
Posts: 7896
Joined: 10 Apr 2005, 17:23
x 224

Re: lexia 3 clone

Post by Mandrake » 22 Apr 2013, 20:11

Hell Razor5543 wrote: When you phone them, they will ask several questions to help to get it all working. One question they will ask is if the installation machine is running a 64bit O/S, as this will limit what cars it will work on (as there are only a few cars that can handle 64bit comms). If you can pay via PayPal so much the better.
To elaborate on this a bit further, there are two installed applications involved, Diagbox and Lexia. Diagbox will work on both 32 bit and 64 bit versions of Windows, Lexia will only work on 32 bit versions of Windows.

You always start a session by launching Diagbox, and newer cars (new models launched approximately in 2004/2005 or later) are handled entirely within the Diagbox application and thus can be diagnosed on 64 bit windows.

Older cars, including Xantia's and original (pre-facelift) C5's are diagnosed entirely in the Lexia app which launches from within Diagbox when an older car is selected from the menu. These cars can't be diagnosed on 64 bit windows versions as Lexia will not work.

There is also an "overlap" region around 2004/2005 where some cars can be diagnosed in both Diagbox and Lexia but only some features will be available in each. If I remember right RichardW's C4 Picasso (2004 ?) can be partially read by the Lexia app but most of the car requires Diagbox.

For a 2003 C5 you'll definitely need the Lexia app to work so you'll definitely need to use a 32 bit version of Windows.
Last edited by Mandrake on 22 Apr 2013, 20:27, edited 1 time in total.

Hell Razor5543
NOT Alistair or Simon
Posts: 9527
Joined: 01 Apr 2012, 09:47
x 679

Re: lexia 3 clone

Post by Hell Razor5543 » 22 Apr 2013, 20:18

Thank you for clarifying that, Mandrake.

As I said in my previous post, I am running this on Windows 7 Starter (so 32bit) which allows me to look at Gracie without any concerns.

bill196510
Posts: 158
Joined: 12 Jan 2013, 22:15

Re: lexia 3 clone

Post by bill196510 » 22 Apr 2013, 21:17

so windows 7 32 bit will be OK, got windows 8 64 bit on at mo ,Will downgrade then lol

bill196510
Posts: 158
Joined: 12 Jan 2013, 22:15

Re: lexia 3 clone

Post by bill196510 » 22 Apr 2013, 21:19

Hell Razor5543 wrote:Thank you for clarifying that, Mandrake.

As I said in my previous post, I am running this on Windows 7 Starter (so 32bit) which allows me to look at Gracie without any concerns.

can get u windows 7 ultimate CD activated if u want it :-)


or 8

Hell Razor5543
NOT Alistair or Simon
Posts: 9527
Joined: 01 Apr 2012, 09:47
x 679

Re: lexia 3 clone

Post by Hell Razor5543 » 22 Apr 2013, 21:54

I don't think my netbook could handle it. It scores 2.3 on the Windows benchmark. My main machine score 7.1 (and is running W7 Ultimate, 64bit)

beko1987
Posts: 216
Joined: 19 Nov 2012, 14:59
x 16

Re: lexia 3 clone

Post by beko1987 » 22 Apr 2013, 22:27

Will it work from a virtual machine with win2000 or xp installed?

Sorry, have an interest in this too, perfect topic timing!

User avatar
Ben82
Posts: 1085
Joined: 03 Dec 2012, 08:47
x 2

Re: lexia 3 clone

Post by Ben82 » 22 Apr 2013, 22:29

beko1987 wrote:Will it work from a virtual machine with win2000 or xp installed?

Sorry, have an interest in this too, perfect topic timing!
Yup, my host machine is a 64bit Windows 7 machine, running 32bit XP Pro in VirtualBox for lexia, and I have no issues with it :)

bill196510
Posts: 158
Joined: 12 Jan 2013, 22:15

Re: lexia 3 clone

Post by bill196510 » 23 Apr 2013, 11:27

oneday wrote:bill your welcome to have a play with mine if you want to try it out first

:-) :-) :-) :-) :-)
when

User avatar
oneday
Posts: 663
Joined: 15 Aug 2012, 22:49

Re: lexia 3 clone

Post by oneday » 24 Apr 2013, 10:57

sorry bill not been on here. this weekend if you like pm me and we can sort it out