Fuel Filter change C5 2.2 single turbo HDi

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

456eec

Fuel Filter change C5 2.2 single turbo HDi

Post by 456eec »

Hello,
I'm fairly new to the car and am looking at replacing my fuel filter.
I have the Haynes manual which doesn't cover this engine. I've read the descriptions of the other HDi engines but wondering if there are differences with the 2.2.
If someone could give a detailed description or a link to one I would be grateful. I have the filter and O ring ($19 posted from UK to Australia compared with $56 to get the local auto shop to order one). I know absolute cleanliness is paramount.

Thanks
Justin
SaabC5
My Cars: 09 C5 X7 2.0Hdi Exclusive

Re: Fuel Filter change C5 2.2 single turbo HDi

Post by SaabC5 »

Justin, its a straight forward affair if you've ever turned a spanner. Its handily placed on the front of the engine, just use a screwdriver to prise out the tab on the side of the fuel supply/return pipes you can't mix them up they are different sizes. You may need a rubber oil filter grip to turn the top of the fuel filter cannister, mine was a bear to undo! Just remove the inner filter and replace with the new filter making sure you have a cloth handy for the fuel that will overflow when you push the filter in (Newtons law doesn't apply to fuel filters) :mrgreen: . Replace the top inc new O ring and fuel lines and crank the engine over....no need to prime anything the 2.2 has an electric pump.
09 C5 X7 2.0Hdi Exclusive in Perla Nera black (the best colour) :wink:
456eec

Post by 456eec »

Wow! Sounds too easy to be true. I've actually ordered The special tool to unscrew the top so when that comes I should be good to go.
Do I need to disconnect the battery to stop the pump pumping or does it only pump with ignition on?
Thanks for the reply.
Hell Razor5543
Donor 2023
My Cars: C5 Mk2 VTX+ estate.

Post by Hell Razor5543 »