Newbie with thirsty 2.2 hdi C5

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

badpanel

Newbie with thirsty 2.2 hdi C5

Post by badpanel »

Hi there, I'm a newbie on here but have read a few bits and pieces on here and hope someone can shed some light on my issue.
A week or so ago I purchased a 52 plate C5 estate 2.2 hdi auto exclusive from a long term customer of ours at the garage I work at.
It's done 106 k and has been serviced regularly by us and shows no faults on ecu other than something to do with secondary heating.
Anyway it would seem from reading on this forum that these cars are far from the most economical but this one seems very poor, struggles to get more than 24-25 mpg average driven like an old fart.
Since buying it I have given it a fuel filter change which if anything seemed to make it worse and blanked off egr which didn't seem to make much difference either way. I have replaced the vac pipe on the egr solenoid that was split And checked the swirl flap action which all seems to work fine and also tried another MAF from a 2.2 Hdi C8
I am planning on a reflash and dpf removal but want to get it about right first really.
Any pointers as to common fuel economy problems would be great
Xantidote
My Cars:

Re: Newbie with thirsty 2.2 hdi C5

Post by Xantidote »

Peter N will be along shortly I expect. He's recently bought a 2.0 HDI, but was previously running a 2.2, and he was not at all happy with the 2.2's consumption
Martin

1995 Xantia TDLX (deceased :( )
Peter.N.
Moderating Team
My Cars: Currently:

C5 X7 VTR + Satnav Hdi estate Silver
C5 X7 VTR + Hdi Estate 2008 Red

In the past: 3, CX td Safaris and about 7, XM td estates. Lovely cars.

Post by Peter.N. »