Eolys?

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

wizzer59
Posts: 94
Joined: 15 Jan 2011, 13:46

Eolys?

Post by wizzer59 » 19 Nov 2012, 16:56

Hi guys
Just topped up my Eolys tank with Pat fluid, for anyone worried about doing it, (I was a little) Don't be, its so easy to do and only took me an hour and now I know how to, I could do it a lot faster :wink:

Can someone put my mind at rest, is pat fluid a brown rusty colour???????

User avatar
SaabC5
Posts: 765
Joined: 01 Aug 2011, 23:18
x 1

Re: Eolys?

Post by SaabC5 » 19 Nov 2012, 17:43

Did you reset the computer via Lexia?

wizzer59
Posts: 94
Joined: 15 Jan 2011, 13:46

Re: Eolys?

Post by wizzer59 » 19 Nov 2012, 17:48

Not yet as I don't have a lexia, I'll probly see how much my local garage is going to charge me [-o<

wizzer59
Posts: 94
Joined: 15 Jan 2011, 13:46

Re: Eolys?

Post by wizzer59 » 27 Nov 2012, 03:07

By the way, what happens if you do not reset the ecu?? :oops:

User avatar
SaabC5
Posts: 765
Joined: 01 Aug 2011, 23:18
x 1

Re: Eolys?

Post by SaabC5 » 27 Nov 2012, 11:18

The computer doesn't know the fluid level has been topped up so will bring up the "additive low" message prematurely because its using the last top up reset as the reference point.

kentc5
Posts: 227
Joined: 25 Oct 2012, 22:27
x 1

Re: Eolys?

Post by kentc5 » 27 Nov 2012, 11:22

It depends what year your C5 is... I think, early C5 dont have a reset option and the ECU needs to be changed... but later C5's have the reset option.
The ECU* ... is in the Eoylys tank so the whole tank needs to be replaced if needed... which is silly...

I have in my mind...if the car runs out of Eolys or the DPF is blocked, I will totally remove the system.

horsedentist
Posts: 166
Joined: 12 Nov 2012, 17:16

Re: Eolys?

Post by horsedentist » 27 Nov 2012, 15:48

Pat fluid is indeed a dirty brown colour, if you don't reset the ecu you will get a message flashing up " diesel additive minimum level" especially after filling up with diesel I don't know if it continues to try and inject fluid or not? No doubt someone will advise us about that!
It doesn't throw any other faults or trigger limp mode at all. Early C5 MK1's need a new ecu after top up as you can not reprogram the early ones.If you try and reset it Lexia will explain in detail how to do it and then tell you you can't pmsl.

wizzer59
Posts: 94
Joined: 15 Jan 2011, 13:46

Re: Eolys?

Post by wizzer59 » 28 Nov 2012, 20:24

Thanks for the replies guys =D>
Its a 2002, and the reason I asked is that it threw up a anti-pollution warning and went into limp mode 100 miles from home a couple of days after putting the pat fluid in :cry:

What warning comes up if the DPF is blocked??? #-o

wizzer59
Posts: 94
Joined: 15 Jan 2011, 13:46

Re: Eolys?

Post by wizzer59 » 04 Dec 2012, 21:28

My garage I use has been unable to reset the eolys or discover why it has gone into limp mode, he says there are loads of fault codes, I will post on here When I pick it up :cry: