Xantia lower ball joints....?

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

Taxi-Paul
My Cars:

Xantia lower ball joints....?

Post by Taxi-Paul »

Hi, I've got some years mechanical experience behind me, but am Taxi Driving at present and no longer in the motor trade.
I've done my fair share of ball joints on motors but very few on citroens. I have a Xantia 1.9td year 1995, and am pretty convinced their shot, at least the near side one is anyway, it's also wearing the edge of that tyre on the same side.
I just wanted to ask advice regarding the difficulty ie what tools needed? and more importantly the procedure regarding the suspension, as in what height so as to lever the lower arm?
sorry if I'm sounding confusing, had a beer or 2 [:D] (well, It's my night off![;)] )
ps, Great Forum [:D] Paul
AndersDK
My Cars:

Post by AndersDK »

Hey - TAXI !
- you're asking for trouble [:D]
Anyone tried those swivel joints (lower balljoints) WILL definately agree - that it's a job best left to anyone you hate the most [}:)][:p][V]
There is a special tool socket that fits over the joint - but it will most definately either break down or just crunch the joint - w/o moving it. Best used for refitting the new joint.
The balljoint is screwed into the lower control arm - tapered thread - Locktite on the threads - and most likely threads are rusty. The thread size is some 1". On top of this - the joint is secured by peening - in 2 locations.
Start by jacking up the car at front - then remove roadwheel and loosen (do not yet remove) the joint lower nut.
Then release the 2 peenings.
Using a large Stilson try if the joint will move - stop BEFORE something breaks in your back [:(]
Instead heat the joint - not red - but enough (some 150degC) ensuring the Locktite surely is soft.
Then try again.
Protect the CV joint & gaiter against the heat - also be carefull the hub is not heated - boiling out the wheelbearing.