1994 ZX

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

nancyt

1994 ZX

Post by nancyt »

Hello, I have an old car that is still going strong. My headlights just went out and I was wondering what may have caused it. Over the last 2 years one fuse has been melting every 6-7 months and I have just replaced it and moved on. Well, now just replacing it isn't working. When I jiggle the wires behind the fusebox, the lights come on every once in a while - mostly just the high beams. One small light always comes on, on one side only. This fuse is also connected to the rear window defroster. Obviously from this post I am not a mechanic. Can anyone tell me if I would be able to fix this on my own? I can follow instructions :) I am looking to get rid of the car soon, which is why I don't want to put too much money into it at this point.

Thank you!
HDI
My Cars:

Re: 1994 ZX

Post by HDI »

Welcome to the forum.
When you say the fuse is melting, do you mean blown or the plastic around the fuse is melting ? If it's blowing there is an intermittent fault causing that, if it's overheating there is either high resistance in that fuse holder or an overload on that circuit. If an intermittent fault, it could be anything on that circuit. Is the problem related to when you turn something on which isn't used very often ? Does it blow when the lights are used ? On dip or main beam ? Has the car ever had an accident repair which may have damaged wiring ? This type of problem can be very difficult to trace, especially at a distance, so we need all the information you can provide.
Now using '00 Xantia LX HDI, pov spec :(
My past Citroens :-
'00 Xantia SX HDI, now dead due to accident :(
'99 Xantia HDI 110 Exclusive, RIP :(
'97 Xantia TD SX
'96 Xantia TD LX
'96 ZX TD
'89 BX TD
'88 AX GT
'79 CX2400 Pallas (scrapped :( )
& a couple of Peugeots !
citronut
My Cars:

Post by citronut »