C5?

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

Peter.N.
Moderating Team
My Cars: Currently:

C5 X7 VTR + Satnav Hdi estate Silver
C5 X7 VTR + Hdi Estate 2008 Red

In the past: 3, CX td Safaris and about 7, XM td estates. Lovely cars.

C5?

Post by Peter.N. »

Hi folks

I wonder if you would be good enough to give me the benifit of your experience. I am considering buying a C5 :? :oops: but although I was an electronics engineer all my working life, they scare me witless, I grew up with valves and components you could see. I have seen quite a number for sale as spares or repair due to 'unrepairable' electronic problems, is this a fact or do the dealers just dont know what they are doing.

Since buying my 406 I am now quite happy with the 8 valve Hdi engine so that shouldn't be a problem but I need to be reassured or otherwise that I can cope with the rest of the car. Over the years I have got to know and love the XMs but I fear they are coming to the end of their life now and I have been trying to find a car with as good a ride, without success, the 406 is lovely to drive but the suspension is so hard in comparison.

Which magazine fell on the mat yesterday morning and there was a feature on car comfort which most manufacturers don't seem to bother obout now, the third most comfortable estate car was the C5, after the E class and Skoda! I wish it had come out earlier, would have saved me a lot of time and trouble.

Peter
Clogzz
My Cars:

Re: C5?

Post by Clogzz »

Hi Peter,

With a lifetime of electronicking, you will find the C5 the most frustrating machine ever. :evil:
Absolutely nothing can be done if the electronics fail, and the only way to limit the electronickery is to have the 2 litre diesel with a manual gearbox.

The hydraulics are simpler than those of the XM, but they still have electronics.
They are very comfy and roomy, and are sensational at speed.