Spark plug colour question! - italian car related!

This is the place for posts that don't fit into any other category.

Moderator: RichardW

Timmo
(Donor 2022)
My Cars: 58 partner teepee outdoor hdi.
58 C2 Code in black! Fun!

Spark plug colour question! - italian car related!

Post by Timmo »

Afternoon Chaps, Firstly appologies for non french content! but as an avid Frenchy driver i htought i May get away with it! :)
changed the plugs and leads on the good lady's Fiat today, (bravo 1.2 16v) cars been missing badly lately, - always misses but only slight when under load, pulled the plugs out and they were all a colour ive not seen before on plugs, a quick google only reveals the usual Haynes chart but in colour! so thought i'd call on the Collective and see if any of you have any idea's???

plugs were cold by the way, as only time i'd have expected to see them Red would be when they were HOT!
the plugs in it have done a while, but not the recommended service interval, (12k on this one) a bit bemused when i pulled them out and they were this colour!!
if it makes any difference they are 8 on the plug heat scale (ngk)

ta in advance for any thoughts,
Timmo.
After All, I am the Cornish one!

'58 C2 Code
'58 partner teepee outdoor
Deanxm
My Cars: Citroen XM

Re: Spark plug colour question! - italian car related!

Post by Deanxm »

Have you been running cheap supermarket unleaded in the punto by any chance?
Cheap fuel has cheap additives which leave this red or purple deposit, the deposit is conductive and so ruins the plugs.

D
XM Prestige PRV6 92
Talbot Express Autotrail Chinook 89
Mitsubishi L200 Trojan 14
Xantia Activa 95, sold (missed)

Service Citroen is awesome, it shows me pictures of all the parts i used to be able to buy............
Timmo
(Donor 2022)

Post by Timmo »

Thanks for that matey, we did use tesco for a while as a succession of 5p off L vouchers, but wifes been using a garage on the way to work, was a Jet, now Texaco,