C5 Servicing

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

bbrucez
My Cars:

C5 Servicing

Post by bbrucez »

With my inherent mistrust of garages, I’ve always done my own servicing right from when I was a poor student. On indirect injection diesels it has been relatively straightforward.
So far, I have changed the engine oil & filter on my C5 which was only marginally more tricky. I’m expecting brakes to be similar.
However, the Haynes Manual is not out yet so other tasks are more daunting. What about glowplugs? Where are the anti-pollution reservoir, fuel filter and pump? Have you tried to change the headlight bulbs? It appears the offside you have to do by feel and the nearside needs the battery moved.
Any hints or tips would be welcome.
bbrucez
My Cars:

Post by bbrucez »

Any hints or tips would be welcome (even insults!).
mbunting
My Cars:

Post by mbunting »

Not sure where the particulate burner fluid stuff gets 'injected', but since there is a post-burn injection to raise the exhaust temperatures, I'd be looking for something on the exhaust manifold ( some sort of injector ), and follow any piping to a reservoir !
Just my thoughts, and I may be completely wrong !
Mat.
blueboy2001

Post by blueboy2001 »

The Eolys (sic?) fluid is mixed with the fuel prior to injection. On my car I can see a plastic tank on the nearside about halfway along - I have always presumed this was it, although I've never had any more than a quick glance.
Not a clue about the rest, haven't even removed the plastic engine cover yet!
I had the 12k service done on mine last week - £127 inc VAT. Not too bad compared to other manufacturers - a friend of mine pays £255 for a minor and £410 for a major service on his BMW 320d.
wheeler
My Cars:

Post by wheeler »