Xantia oil change litres required

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

charentejohn
My Cars:

Xantia oil change litres required

Post by charentejohn »

Just done an oil change in my 90 HDI and my workshop manual says 4.2L + 0.3L for filter so 4.5L in all. Just dumped 5L in and only just above minimum, so should it say 5.4L :) or maybe 5.5L. Seems strange but this is what the book says.

Book also says 4.8L + 0.3L for filter for 1.9TD engine.

What should this be in real life ? I will buy some more oil tomorrow my guess is it will take another 0.5L so 5.5L in all but we will see.
Can't think where else the oil would go unless this is the special 1L hollow crankshaft model :?
You must be the change you want to see in the world - Mahatma Gandhi
Xantia HDI 90SX C3 2005 and C3 2006 both 1.4i sensodrives
jmd
My Cars:

Re: Xantia oil change litres required

Post by jmd »

I have no experience of the Xantia 90 Hdi, but my xantia 110 HDI, always took a little under 5ltrs when doing an oil & filter change. I reckon both cars have the same capacity sump. I always drain oil through the sump. The guy who wrote your workshop manual probably used a vacuum extractor, and that does not do the job completely. Leave your engine at rest for 10 minutes to get a true reading on the dipstick.
Peter.N.
Moderating Team
My Cars: Currently:

C5 X7 VTR + Satnav Hdi estate Silver
C5 X7 VTR + Hdi Estate 2008 Red

In the past: 3, CX td Safaris and about 7, XM td estates. Lovely cars.

Post by Peter.N. »

I use 5 litres in my 406 110 Hdi and shows a fraction above full which is fine.

Peter
(Donor 2017)
My Cars: Citroen C5 2.0 Hdi 2003

Post by 411514 »