Greetings..and help??

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

Allante666

Greetings..and help??

Post by Allante666 »

Hi all
I have an old 97 Xantia 1.9 diesel which I need to put a new clutch in. Ive seen where it says you need a special tool to get the thrust bearing to snap back into the pressure plate? Just wondering if this is a bit of Citroen spin or do you really need it?
Also is there anything I should be aware of when doing the job. (im an ex mechanic but havent done a citroen clutch before)

Thanks in advance

Andy
CitroJim
A very naughty boy
My Cars: Bluebell the AX, Polly the C3 Picasso, Pix the Nissan Pixo, Propel the duathlon bike, TCR Pro the road bike and Fuji the TT bike...

Re: Greetings..and help??

Post by CitroJim »

Hi Andy and welcome... :-D

The bit about needing a special tool to engage the release bearing is quite true but it only applies to the larger engined Xantias with the ML5 gearbox and hydraulic clutch (2.1TD, Activa and 110HDi).

Yours, being a 1.9TD, will have the BE3 box and there's no need for any special tools except a standard clutch centering tool when doing the job.

For a guide on replacing the 1.9TD clutch, take a look at this thread. It's really not a bad job.

A few of us on here have done a few now so any questions, just fire away...

As an ex-mechanic you'll find the job a doddle :-D
Jim

Runner, cyclist, time triallist, duathlete, Citroen AX fan and the CCC Citroenian 'From A to Z' Columnist...
Allante666

Post by Allante666 »