Xantia S2 Radio Wiring

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

artdjones
My Cars: Citroën C5 1.6 HDi 2005
Peugeot 307 1.6HDi Estate 2005
Peugeot 205GL 1.1 1991

Xantia S2 Radio Wiring

Post by artdjones »

Had to take the radio out a couple of weeks ago to remove heater control panel to fit bulbs.I noticed that two of the speaker dual connections had extra two core wires just pushed into the back.When they were pulled out there was no sound,so I've been driving around for two years with only two speakers working.I've only had time to investigate today.The two core wires were joined into two sets of speaker wires behind the glovebox.These speaker wires have been unclipped from a 26 pin blue connector,the kind that has a latch to lock it into whatever its supposed to be joined to.This connector seems to have thespeaker wires from the radio going into it as well as the wires from the speaker but I can't see what the connector plugs into ,which would presumably join the radio to all four speakers.Has anyone come across this before when removing the dash?There are a couple of issues on the car,including this that look like they stem from a bodged dash removal.I suppose I could bridge the wires but it would be neater just to plug it in!
CitroJim
A very naughty boy
My Cars: Bluebell the AX, Polly the C3 Picasso, Pix the Nissan Pixo, Propel the duathlon bike, TCR Pro the road bike and Fuji the TT bike...

Re: Xantia S2 Radio Wiring

Post by CitroJim »

That 26 pin connector should go to the TrafficMaster module which lives up on top of the bulkhead right behind the passenger airbag and sits atop the CPH ECU. I guess somebody has tried to bypass the TrafficMaster box which intercepts the radio speakers direct to deliver it's advice...