Why final 220deg turn on a turbo cylinder head bolt

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

masood_ilyas
My Cars:

Why final 220deg turn on a turbo cylinder head bolt

Post by masood_ilyas »

Over this weekend I will be in the final stages of Head gasket replacement on a Mk2 1.9TD Xantia.
Reading the BOL it suggests three stages of head bolt torquing down and tightening, 20Nm, 60Nm and 220deg final rotation. A 20Nm followed by 60 Nm is ok but not being a mechanical engineer I can not fully understand the logic for 220 Deg final stage. Why not a further two stages of as a guess of 100Nm and 200Nm or 110deg followed by another 110 deg.
Now if the engine was on a bench there would be no problem, however with tight space I can only manage a maximum of around 200deg. Interestingly when I did manage a close to 220 degrees, I noticed after releasing the tension there was still room for the bolt to turn but of course I chickened out as I did not wish to break a bolt at this late stage of the job.
By the way for a non turbo the spec is not so tight, for turbos it is 220deg.
Any explanation would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you

Masood
Xantidote
My Cars:

Re: Why final 220deg turn on a turbo cylinder head bolt

Post by Xantidote »

I would think this is to do with the fact that you are using stretch bolts. 220 degrees rotation will stretch them a pre-determined amount (as intended by the designer). In the old days, there was just a staged sequence for tightening, as you did initially, but I don't think stretch bolts were then in use.

I stand to be corrected. Wiser persons will be along soon :)

When I did the head on my 1.9TD, I was quite apprehensive about such a large rotation, but the book said Do It, so I did it. To date, the head's dehaved itself.
Martin

1995 Xantia TDLX (deceased :( )
CitroJim
A very naughty boy