Toe IN or toe OUT ?

This is the Forum for all your Citroen Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

Ozzie Kuma
My Cars:

Toe IN or toe OUT ?

Post by Ozzie Kuma »

Hi,
My first post !

I have a 95 VSX Xantia ( owned since new ) which handles beautifully.

I recently bought an Xantia V6 which has much different handling / steering / feel. I would describe it as "lighter". I have to pay more attention to steering.

It steers true & has no damage, nothing is out of alignment or bent.

The spheres are all good. At 160ks the steering improves & is close to the feel of the VSX.

In an endeavour to get the V6 to steer like the VSX, I have put new wheels & tyres to match the 55 profile tyres on the VSX.

On the advise of the Local tyre shop, I changed the "toe" to first 1 then 2 degrees IN

But it still does not feel right.

I thought a front wheel drive car should have tow out but I am no expert, I just know I get in the VSX & it feels GREAT! where the V6 feels OK but not Great.

Can anyone comment or advise on how to get more direct, slightly heavier "feel" from my steering please or is it just the characteristic of the V6 to be more "sporty".

regards for the colonies..
andmcit
My Cars:

Post by andmcit »

I will need to check my manuals when I get home but IIRC
(95% certain mind) Xantia and Xm are 1mm toe OUT!
Not sure of the +/- tolerance TBH.

To me it has always seemed wrong as the CX and GS
were always toe in as much as 2mm.

It'd significantly alter the feel of your steering if you adjust
out that 2mm.

Andrew
Nothing moves you like a Citroën
CitroJim
A very naughty boy
My Cars: Bluebell the AX, Polly the C3 Picasso, Pix the Nissan Pixo, Propel the duathlon bike, TCR Pro the road bike and Fuji the TT bike...

Post by CitroJim »

Hi Ozzie and a big old-Country welcome to the forum :D Whereabouts in Oz are you?