Dropped a socket

This is the Forum for all your Peugeot Technical Questions, Problems or Advice.

Moderator: RichardW

tobsta
My Cars:

Dropped a socket

Post by tobsta »

I was finding it difficult to start my 405 td in recent cold mornings so i decided to replace my glow plugs. I've never done glow plugs before but i assumed they were as easy as spark plugs.
To be honest it was quite an easy job, as i was doing up the last plug i dropped the socket and for the life of me i couldn't see where it landed. i looked everywhere for it but no joy.
So...(I cant stop kicking myself for doing this) i decided to start the car and hopfully the socket will vibrate out.

There was a clunk clunk clang so i turned it off quick. Too late the gearbox oil was bleeding out of every hole. :cry:

After many hours of crying, sobbing and pretty much pulling my hair out i've come to the conclusion that im going to have to take the gearbox off to see the damage.
Thats where i found this forum and its been very helpfull indeed. i followed evilally's gearbox removal post. wow where would i be without that. So im pretty much ready to take out the box. just need to jack up engine and box and undo the nuts and mount which i will do tomorrow.
spider
My Cars: Soon, I hope...

Post by spider »

Usually they fall behind the injection pump bracket (you would be surprised how much space there really is near that and the alternator)

If its got a gearbox leak it must of fallen into the bellhousing (how though unless a cap is missing I am not sure)

EDIT... Your first post so 'Welcome' :) , shame it is under such a potentially unpleasant issue though. :)
Andy.

91 205D-Turbo, gone but still missed
02 106D, TUD5B, gone but not really missed apart from the MPG
tobsta
My Cars:

Post by tobsta »